Cheap Eats: Sausage Cobbler

For anyone who read the Sauerkraut and Pumpkin recipe and thought – eurgh!  whatever is Emily up to now???  I just have to emphasize that I didn’t invent this cake.  I didn’t just think: “what can I throw in now to really weird Ben out?”  I have updated the post with a reference to where I found the recipe.  I simply made it vegan and made it a bit more Ben-friendly.  For anyone who thought: “wow! Emily is a food alchemist – that sounds awesome” – sorry to disappoint you

In the supermarket we saw some scones selling off.  Now, being a Devonshire girl, this would normally mean clotted cream and jam 🙂

BUT on this occasion I said I would make Ben a cobbler – not really cobbler weather?  I guess not, but Ben was happy – we eat a lot of salad now its warmer so maybe he was happy to have a hearty meal.  Having said that we have had a few drizzly days on holiday, so some comfort food was in order.

Ben bought some low fat sausages, so this time I decided to make a sausage cobbler.  The great thing about a meal like this is, well there are a couple of great things:

  • the meat can be used as an accent, so I can bulk it out with cheaper beans and grains
  • I can throw it all into one pan, stick it in the oven, and not have to worry about it until I do the veg

I didn’t have any potatoes to serve with it.  If I had a bit more time I might have cooked some pearl barley – good in a stew – but on this occasion I used brown rice.  I bulked out the protein (and fibre) with some tinned beans.  I used black eyed beans which I had open in the fridge.

sausage cobbler, scones, beans, gravy

Overlooking the scones, this is actually a healthy meal.  A small amount of ‘healthier’ sausages (don’t use those cheap nasty ones which have very little to do with real meat).  You could quite happily substitute in vegan or vegetarian sausages if you eat that sort of thing – or leave it out together!

Cut the scones in half before you put them on the top, and not only does it look like they go further, but they start to soak up the gravy – yum!

Sausage Cobbler

Sausage, cobbler, beans, scones

Sausage Cobbler

  • 2 low fat/vegan/vegetarian sausages (leave out if you wish)
  • Half an onion, chopped
  • A couple of handfuls of tinned beans, such as black eyed beans, haricot beans etc (drained)
  • 60g brown rice, cooked
  • 1 tsp tomato puree
  • Gravy powder, to taste
  • 2 plain scones, ready made (look for ones without sugar)
  1. Heat the oven to 200C.
  2. If you haven’t got cooked rice, put it on to cook now.  Follow the packet instructions.
  3. While the oven heats, cook the sausages in a frying pan, or on a grill, catching the cooking juices.
  4. If using a frying pan, add the onions to brown.  If not, cook them separately.  To really soften and caramelise them well, they can take up to 20 minutes.  I don’t cook them that long – just until they are soft.
  5. Add in the tomato puree and cook for a couple of minutes.
  6. Stir in the tinned beans, sausages (if not frying in the same pan) and gravy powder to taste.
  7. Once thick, throw it all into a baking dish and put the halved scones on the top of the gravy.  Put in the oven for 10-15 minutes until the scones are golden and hot.
  8. Serve with vegetables, and potatoes if you desire.

What are your favourite comfort foods?  Do you eat them even in ‘inappropriate’ weather?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

