Ben’s surprise loaf cake, vegan, wheat free

This post has been updated

I’ve spent two afternoons this week cleaning the kitchen.  I mean giving it a thorough clean. It feels good and therapeutic to really get in there and scrub.  And just think of the arm workout! The depressing thing is that I’m sure Ben won’t even notice.

I’ve done the cleaning that Ben doesn’t even see. I scrubbed the oven, I washed the splashback behind the hobs, I got into the grouting and scrubbed it with a cheap toothbrush.  I washed all the cupboard doors, and took the toothbrush to all the handles.  They often get a coating of yuck from my hands when I am cooking, opening cupboards and not washing my hands in between 🙂

The bit Ben never notices is the dish-draining tray.  I disinfected it, underneath it, and all around the sink.  Ben does the dishes every day (that’s his job as I cook), but somehow he forgets to clean the drain afterwards.  He only notices if it starts to clog – EURGH!!!

Is dirt-blindness a man thing, or just my (otherwise wonderful) husband?

My brother-in-law is the opposite.  My sister often tells me how he starts to wash up dishes and utensils before she has even finished using them.

Anyway, I started this post with telling you about my housework because Ben has desperately been trying to work out what went into this cake I made him this week.  Again, I was using up stuff I had in the fridge.  It’s been like 20 questions every time I give Ben a slice 🙂

Here you go love:

sauerkraut, pumpkin, loaf, cake, chocolate, hazelnutHe was right to be suspicious when I bought chocolate chips and hazelnuts specially for this cake.  If I am using Ben’s favourites, he knows I am trying to hide something.

It is a legitimate cake recipe that I found online when I was looking for ways to use up the sauerkraut in my fridge before we went on holiday.  It sounds strange, but it does work!!

This cake isn’t gluten free because I used spelt flour, which does contain gluten.  It’s an ancient grain, and can be tolerated by many people who have problems with modern wheat flours.  I also made my own oat flour by blitzing jumbo oats in my food processor to make a flour.  It’s the same method I use for making my protein pancakes.

oat, flour

Sauerkraut and Pumpkin loaf cake
Inspired by About: Eastern European Food

  • 2 flax eggs (2 tbsp ground flaxseed in 6 tbsp warm water)
  • 125ml water
  • 60g coconut oil, melted
  • 200g canned (or cooked and pureed) pumpkin
  • 185g soft brown sugar
  • 70g rinsed sauerkraut, squeezed dry
  • 2 tsp mixed spice, or cinnamon and a sprinkle of fresh nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 100g jumbo rolled oats or oat flour
  • 170g whole grain kamut flour
  • handful of hazelnuts, chopped
  • bigger handful of chocolate chips (vegan if required)
  1. Preheat oven to 200C. Line a 2lb loaf pan with baking paper
  2. If using oats, whizz them in a food processor or mini blender to create a coarse flour.  Pour this into a bowl.
  3. Chop the sauerkraut in your food processor or mini blender
  4. Mix together flax eggs, water, coconut oil, sugar, sauerkraut, spices and vanilla
  5. In a separate bowl combine the oat and kamut flours with baking powder.
  6. Add in the pumpkin mixture along with the nuts and chocolate chips, mix until just incorporated, don’t overmix.
  7. Transfer the mixture into the loaf tin.
  8. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes or until the cake is risen, and a skewer comes out clean when inserted through the loaf cake.
  9. Serve warm or at room temperature

sauerkraut, pumpkin, loaf, cake, chocolate, hazelnutsPlease tell me that Ben isn’t the only one who has dirt-blindness.  Do you put ‘secret ingredients’ in food?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

