Peach smoothie, vegan option

Peaches are cropping up everywhere.  I already posted my peach melba breakfast.  If you remember the Morcambe and Wise sketch with André Previn, it’s all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order.  I hope I haven’t mis-quoted – that is a great sketch!

So as I bought a punnet of peaches, I changed things up a bit to have a peach smoothie.

I usually prefer nectarines to peaches.  Nectarines are a cross between a peach and a plum.  A similar size and colour to the peach, it has a smooth skin.  But I have given them a second chance, as most of the nutrients are found near the skin.

Peaches are high in beta-carotene, which contributes to eye health,

They have vitamins including A, C, E, and K with seven particular minerals: calcium, copper, iron, magnesium, zinc, Manganese and Phosphorus.
(ihomeremedy.net)

Peaches are high fibre to help keep your digestion in tip top condition, and keep you fuller for longer.

I boosted the digestive benefits further by using a probiotic yogurt, if you are vegan, you can omit this and use more almond milk, or use a vegan alternative.

I’ve said before how I prefer to stick to only one fruit in my smoothies, so to bulk this one out and make it creamy I added half a small ripe avocado.  Having a little oil with your meal helps your body to absorb fat soluble vitamins such as vitamin E.

As always, I added protein powder for a boost.  I used strawberry flavour, but I’m sure vanilla would also work well.

peach, avocado, yogurt, almond milkPeach Smoothie
Serves 1

  • 1 peach approx 80g
  • 30g ripe avocado
  • 100ml probiotic yogurt, or vegan alternative
  • 50ml almond milk
  • 10g strawberry protein powder
  • toppings, I used pistachio nuts and yogurt

Put all the ingredients, apart from the toppings, into the blender.  Blitz until smooth.  Add more almond milk if you prefer yours thinner.

peach, avocado, pistachio, yogurt

peach smoothie

Have you tried nectarines?  Do you like the slightly furry skin of a peach, or do you prefer your fruit skin smooth?

Read More

www.ihomeremedy.net/7-amazing-health-benefits-of-peaches/

Deliciously Ella: Perfect Peach Smoothie

 

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Peach smoothie, vegan option

  1. Cilleriania August 15, 2013 at 4:00 am Reply

    Nectarines are much better than peaches. Unless my mum cuts up the peach for me (I’m 32 😉 )

Leave a Reply

