Pulled chicken

I think the first time Ben had pulled pork was at a food festival.  It was deliciously juicy and melt-in-your-mouth.  The BBQ sauce added a smoky kick which was complimented by creamy mayonnaise and crisp iceberg lettuce.

I knew that the day would come when I had to recreate this dish.  I wanted to use up some of the BBQ sauce I bought to get Ben to try the sweet potatoes.  I knew the day had come.

I’m not usually one for bought sauces, preferring to make my own, so I get a little stressed out knowing that something less healthy lurks in my cupboard.  Give a girl her due, I do make sure I buy the best I can find (and then feed it to my husband, keeping homemade for myself :-/ )

I didn’t think the original pulled pork was terribly healthy, so I had to put my own Emily-slant on it.

Out with the mayonnaise for starters.  I used to always have a jar of the ultra low fat stuff in the cupboard, but have you seen the ingredients list?  pulled chicken, barbeque, bbq chicken breast, bap

Pulled Chicken Roll

  • 1 Chicken breast
  • 25g BBQ sauce, shop bought or make your own
  • 50g tomato salsa, shop bought or make your own
  • Worcester sauce to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Combine the BBQ sauce, tomato salsa and worcester sauce.
  3. Put a big dollop of the sauce in the bottom of a baking pan
  4. Place the chicken breast on top, and nestle it in.  Pour the rest of the sauce over the top of the chicken. Cover with a lid, or with tin foil to keep the juices in.
  5. Put in the oven for 20-25 minutes until the chicken is almost cooked.  Remove lid/foil and put back in the oven for another 10 minutes for the sauce to thicken.
  6. Remove from the oven.  Shred the chicken breast using two forks and mix well into the sauce.
  7. Pile into a white bap and serve.

I had trouble deciding if this was a bap, bun or roll.  Which would you call it?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Pulled chicken

  1. […] I didn’t think it had much of a taste on it’s own, you could taste the brine, but not much else.  I asked Ben to try some and he balked at the idea.  He did eventually have some, but the piece was so small I’m surprised he even knew it was there!  He stuck to his pulled chicken bap. […]

Leave a Reply

