‘Peach melba’: gluten free, vegan option

Woo hoo I got my new Real Foods Order.  Here’s a sneaky peak:

real foods order

real foods order

What can you spot?

In other news, I have now created a tab above bringing together my fitness posts to make them easier to find.

Now to my breakfast.  When I was a child we used to have those Muller Corner yogurts with the (sugared) fruit puree.  My sister always had strawberry.  I think I probably liked the strawberry best, but I didn’t want her eating MY yogurts (sorry, older sister syndrome).  I used to ask for the peach and apricot, no one else would eat those.  I loved the pieces of apricot and peach, and would suck the yogurt off and save them for the end.

I was always a little disappointed that the fruit sauce didn’t make the nice ripple effect that my sister’s strawberry ones did 😦

Then I discovered peach melba – peaches, raspberry sauce and ice cream.  Mmm – the streaks of pink and chunks of peach – the best of both worlds.

This is my breakfast take on the peach melba, made with yogurt.  I only have strawberry protein powder, I’ve never seen raspberry, but I understand it exists.  Can you recommend any brands?

baked peach

baked peach halves

Sorry Ben for the state of the pan!

Peach melba yogurt
Serves 1

  • 1 peach
  • 100g yogurt or vegan alternative
  • 10g protein powder, raspberry flavour if you can find it, otherwise strawberry
  • 8g pistachio nuts

Prepare your peach by slicing in half and remove the stone.  Put on the grill or in the oven until soft, but still holding its shape.  Make the berry yogurt by adding the protein powder to the yogurt and stir well until combined.  Top the peach halves with the yogurt and sprinkle with the pistachio nuts.

peach, pistachio, yoghurt, protein

What was your favourite flavour yogurt growing up?  Is it still your favouite?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “‘Peach melba’: gluten free, vegan option

  1. […] are cropping up everywhere.  I already posted my peach melba breakfast.  If you remember the Morcambe and Wise sketch with André Previn, it’s all the right notes, […]

Leave a Reply

