Vegan sloppy joe and a squat challenge

Ok, sorry, I didn’t get to post my squat challenge yesterday.  Well here it is:

30 day squat challenge, squat workoutSo today was 80 squats.  In addition to the squat challenge I am still trying to maintain my 100 sit-ups, and I’m telling you – it doesn’t get any easier!  I hope this mantra is true:

“It never gets any easier: you only get better”

I got all excited when I saw that tinned ‘legumes’ are selling off at my local supermarket.  Am I sad for admitting to that???  Anyway, I went a bit wild and stocked up.

tinned beans, legumes, chickpeas, lentilsThey are so convenient to have in the cupboard.  I always plan my meals in advance, but sometimes I just can’t be bothered to think about cooking off dried chickpeas etc for two hours.  I know, I know, I could batch cook at the weekends, but I’m too busy doing more fun things 🙂  (Oh dear, how lazy do I sound???)

So what was I going to do with my many tins of beans, lentils and chickpeas?

lentil, walnut, bbq, barbeque, vegan

vegan sloppy joes

I had never come across a Sloppy Joe before.  I think my first introduction was the Sloppy Joe pizza  that a colleague told me was her favourite pizza ever.  It didn’t really turn me on.  But it turned out that Ben didn’t know what a Sloppy Joe was either.  He had to check with me if they are always vegetarian? I confirmed that no, this was my vegan version of a meaty ‘classic’.

The definition from Google:

“A sloppy joe is a sandwich, originating in the United States, consisting of ground beef, onions, tomato sauce or ketchup and other seasonings, served on a hamburger bun.”

I could have added onions, but I was looking for a quick dinner and didn’t want to wait for the onions to brown.  I also changed it up by using barbeque sauce instead of ketchup for a smokier, spicier taste.

I wonder who it was named after…???

Vegan Sloppy Joe
Serves 1

  • 100g tinned green lentils, washed
  • 25g walnuts
  • barbeque sauce of your choice
  • bread roll, bun, bap (whatever you want to call it)

Simply put the walnuts and lentils in a food processor and pulse until the walnuts are broken up but still provide some texture.  Heat in a pan with the barbeque sauce, use as much as you desire to get a ‘sloppy’ consistency, to your taste.  Pile into a bread roll, bap etc to serve.

As I don’t eat bread, I might serve it on a salad, or over quinoa.  Having said that, I would use homemade barbeque sauce as well.

lentils, walnuts, barbeque sauce, BBQ, sloppy joe, vegan

vegan sloppy joe

Have you had a Sloppy Joe?  Was it a meat or vegetarian version?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Vegan sloppy joe and a squat challenge

  1. Cilleriania August 7, 2013 at 11:03 am Reply

    We had them a lot as kids. Our version was always a toasted English muffin with mince beef topping. Haven’t had them in years (have been vego for years), so mayby I should try them?!

    • Emily Hawkes August 7, 2013 at 12:24 pm Reply

      Mmm, English muffin sounds good. The vego version is tasty, healthy and lentils are really good for you. Definitely give it a go 🙂

  2. Beeph August 8, 2013 at 7:54 pm Reply

    My wife makes something similar, but calls these Sloppy Lennys cause..you know.. of the lentils..

Leave a Reply

