Raw sushi: vegan option, gluten free

Firstly, I want to say a huge thank you to everyone who has been reading my blog.  I checked the stats this morning, and last night visits and posts went through the roof.  I only hope you continue to check back.  Say “HI” in the comments section at the bottom if you are a repeat visitor.  In fact, stop and say hi if you are a newbie too – I’d love to get to know you all!

Once I’d checked my stats (total priority 🙂 ) the last thing I wanted to do this morning was 70 squats, after BodyPump last night!  I’m doing a squat challenge following on from my July Abs challenge.  Sorry I haven’t shared it so far this month so we can all get on it together, but I hope to have it for you later today.

After all the hard work in the gym, I look forward to something quick and easy, and so I’ve been experimenting with making sushi which can be made in advance, and I really enjoy it.  My latest attempt was a raw sushi, made with buckwheat groats.

raw vegan sushi, buckwheat groats, pepper, nori, peanut butter, misoI’ve outlined the health benefits of buckwheat before.  When they are soaked they go all slimy, you wash this off, but for the sushi it helps to hold it all together, which is great!  Soaking also reduces the phytic acid, so all good!

I made vegan sushi, but I topped them with king prawns this time.  I thought about putting them in the sushi rolls, but this way I get the best of both worlds.  I served with some stir fried vegetables.

Raw Sushi
Serves 1

  • 30g buckwheat groats (soaked overnight)
  • 10g raw peanut butter (no added ingredients)
  • 10g sweet white miso paste
  • 1 sheet of nori
  • vegetable slices such as red pepper, carrot, cucumber, aparagus tips
  1. Soak the buckwheat groats overnight.  They will get quite slimy, so in the morning give them a good rinse!
  2. Put the buckwheat, peanut butter and miso paste in a food processor and blitz until a smooth paste.
  3. Spread thinly on your nori, making sure it is shiny side down.
  4. Place your vegetable strips evenly along the bottom.
  5. Roll up and wrap in clingfilm.  Chill until ready to serve.
raw, buckwheat, sushi, prawns, king, pepper

raw sushi with prawns

Say ‘HI’ and tell me about yourself in the comments section below.  Tell me, what are your quick go-to meals?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

