Baked falafel: vegan, gluten free

vegan, falafel, chickpea, chick pea,

falafel

YAY!  I finally achieved the baked vegan, gluten free falafel I have been trying to make.

They were crunchy on the outside, and soft on the inside – the perfect falafel!

I wrote in my post on Butterbean bites that I was having real trouble with baked, gluten free, vegan falafel.  Last time I had to settle for vegetarian, and added egg to bind.  This time I got it!

I’d seen vegan recipes on Thug Kitchen (don’t read it you are sensitive to ‘bad’ language) and Keepin’ it Kind and I knew I had to try it again.

I knew from the moment I pulsed the mixture that it was going to be a success! It came together perfectly.  I made sure I placed them on baking parchment so that they wouldn’t stick and spoil.

Kristy piled hers into a taco shell – but I’m not convinced by tacos.  I’ve made them for Ben before, so I might try this if I can persuade him that chickpeas are good 🙂

I couldn’t wrap them in a tortilla since I’ve stopped eating bread and bread products again, so I served mine with salad and dips – yummy!  I was so pleased with how they turned out this time!

falafel, chickpea, cooking stages

falafel making process

Falafel
Serves 1

  • 80g cooked chickpeas
  • 30g red onion
  • 1 garlic clove (roasted)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp hot smoked paprika
  • 5g nutritional yeast.
  1. Process all ingredients in a food-processor until you get a dough mixture
  2. Form the mixture into balls, and chill in the fridge.
  3. When ready to cook, place all the balls on non-stick baking parchment.  Give it a spritz of cooking spray if necessary.
  4. Heat oven to 200C.  Bake for about 20 minutes until the falafel are crunchy on the outside.  Turn them during cooking to ensure they are crispy all over and to prevent sticking on the bottom.
  5. Serve with salad, and sauce for dipping.

What foods do you have trouble with and come back to time and again?  Please tell me it’s not just me!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

