Protein pancakes: vegetarian, gluten free

Oh yeah!  I mastered the protein pancakes!  I tweaked the recipe a little, and tried a new cooking technique. Whoop whoop!

I WILL NOT BE BEATEN!

protein pancakes

The trouble was that my batter kept sticking to the bottom of my frying pan before the pancake had set.  When I tried to turn it, it stuck to the bottom and the top became a wrinkled mess.

I started by cooking at a lower heat.  This helped to encourage the pancakes not to burn on the bottom, but I still had problems with it not setting on the top while cooking on the bottom.

I used a method I have been using on my Zen bowls to ensure the egg comes away from the bottom of the pan…

I put a lid on it 🙂

Its great because it keeps the moisture in which stops it sticking; and (I guess) makes it like an oven so it cooks right through.

cooking with a lid over frying pan, protein pancakes

with a lid

and flip…

protein powder, egg white, oats, almond milk

flipped over

Ok, so they stuck a little, but they were much better.

I think I will call them power protein pancakes!

Popeye got his strength from spinach, while I love spinach, I will get my strength from pancakes!

I never thought I would be able to enjoy ‘healthy’ pancakes, and that they were forever resigned to being a treat for Ben on a Sunday morning.

“Easy like a Sunday morning…”

In fact, still have these as your Sunday morning treat – your body will thank you for it.  Go out and buy the ingredients now! Then it is all on hand for breakfast tomorrow!

Chocolate Protein Pancakes
Serves 1

  • 20g jumbo rolled oats (gluten free if required), processed to a rough flour
  • 15g protein powder, I used chocolate
  • 10g milled flax/linseed
  • 70g egg white
  • 45ml unsweetened almond milk
  • pinch of baking powder (gluten free)
  1. Put the oats in your food processor, and blitz to make a coarse flour.
  2. Add in all the other ingredients and combine
  3. Heat the frying pan to hot and add spoonfuls of batter, I like to make a few smaller pancakes – I think 3 or 4 out of this mixture.
  4. Turn it down to a medium heat, place a lid over the top so they part steam/bake.
  5. When the top is set and starting to form bubbles remove from the heat.
  6. Flip the pancakes.  Return to the heat to seal the other side.
  7. Serve with coconut cream, yoghurt, banana soft serve or fruit of your choice.
protein pancakes, egg white, chocolate, oat flour

Power protein pancakes

What’s your favourite Sunday morning breakfast?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

