Sweet Potato chips: vegan, gluten free

Oh yeah!  Today is the last day of my 30 Day Ab challenge.  For anyone who is new to the blog – it went like this…:

30 day ab challenge

30 day Abs workout

I think after all that, I need a 30 day stretch challenge!  Or maybe some squats???  Anyway…

My hubby has become a whole lot more adventurous in the food he will eat.  We once had an argument because I had included some yellow ‘spaceship squash’ in our soup.  He initially balked at the idea of eating venison or rabbit (sorry for the suggestion to my vegan and vegetarian readers).  He did not like the idea of Meat-free Mondays, but now enjoys lentils, homemade veggie burgers, pasta dishes and any number of ideas I come up with.

This week Ben said I could serve him some sweet potato – something he would never try before. He suggested I put a bit of sweet potato mash on his plate but, remembering my first experience of sweet potato, I didn’t think this was the best introduction to a fab vegetable.

My first experience with sweet potato was not a good one… I had never tried it growing up, so when I got to university I thought I would give it a go.  I remember it now.  I baked the potato and served it with baked beans.  I was quite fond of jacket potato with baked beans, but this was nothing like that.  Faced with a plate of ‘orange’, eating with my eyes did not get the desired response.

My initial thoughts were – it’s slimy!  Faced with sweet, slimy, mush paired with sickly baked beans – I quickly lost my appetite.  But as with everything, I persevered.  I found out how to cook sweet potatoes to make the most of them.  I learned about their nutritional benefits.  Did you know that:

  • Sweet potato counts as a vegetable towards your target of 5 a day
  • They have a high content of beta-carotene, the vegetable version of vitamin A
  • They contain vitamin C, vitamin B6, potassium, iron and magnesium
  • Despite their sweet taste, they are low GI, meaning they release energy into the body slowly – no insulin spikes!

You need to eat your sweet potatoes with a little oil to ensure you get all the nutrients, many of the vitamins are fat soluble.

So, NO, I wasn’t going to give Ben mashed sweet potato – the best way to introduce them into his diet – chips! I also threw in some regular potatoes – just in case.

sweet potato chips, barbeque sauce

sweet potato chips

How could he refuse to eat them when I made a side salad with cucumber hearts…?

cucumber hearts

cucumber hearts

As with my curly fries – quantities depends on how many you make, but the ingredients are as follows:

  • Sweet potato
  • coconut oil
  • peanut butter
  • hot smoked paprika
  1. Heat oven to 200C
  2. Chop the potatoes into wedge shapes
  3. Mix the peanut butter, paprika and coconut oil together, and throw in the potato wedges to coat
  4. Remove from the coating, and lay out on a baking tray
  5. Place in the oven until the chips are cooked through, and with a bit of luck, crunchy on the outside

I served with BBQ sauce – I actually bought BBQ sauce to encourage Ben to eat the sweet potatoes, normally I would make my own.

sweet potato chips, salad, chicken

The meal

And his verdict?  He couldn’t taste the sweet potato for the amount of BBQ sauce he dipped each and every one of them in!

Ahhh well, next time sweet potato mash it is…

How do you encourage loved ones to try new foods? How do you incorporate healthy foods into your family’s diets?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato chips: vegan, gluten free

  1. CasandraWillis July 31, 2013 at 4:25 pm Reply

    Yum!

    • Emily Hawkes July 31, 2013 at 7:42 pm Reply

      Thanks for your comment. They were ‘yum’!

Leave a Reply

