Zen bowl: vegetarian, gluten free

I was totally inspired by Nutritionist in the Kitch to make a Zen bowl.  Come to that I was also inspired to make the pancakes – but they were a complete disaster!  I’m sticking to smoothies and overnight oats for breakfast at the moment – much less opportunity to mess it up.

Scratch that – I know I’m going to keep trying until I get it right…

Anyway, the Zen Bowl.

zen bowl, curry, eggs, avocado, quinoa, carrot, spinach, tomato,

Zen bowl

Mine contained 1 egg, 1 egg white, spinach, shredded carrot, cherry tomatoes on top of quinoa, and topped with avocado.

Simply sweat down the carrot until softened, stir in the egg and egg white with a tsp of curry powder (chose a low salt version) and gently scramble.  Stir in your spinach until wilted, and add halved cherry tomatoes.  Serve with cooked quinoa, and top with some sliced avocado for good fats and a creamy texture.

Hmm…eggs and curry…I can assure you my ‘digestion’ behaved afterwards and it was safe to be in a room with me.

For a vegan version, you could change the egg up for tofu scramble, and I’m sure it will be delicious, in fact, I’m going to try that soon!

I loved using my mandoline (not the instrument) to shred the carrot.

Zen is translated as ‘meditative state’ and emphasizes the attainment of enlightenment.  I’m not sure I got to enlightenment – but I did realise that it is possible to come up with a healthy, nutritious lunch or dinner in about 5 minutes.  OK, about 15 minutes if you have to cook the quinoa from scratch.

It was so good, I had to take more pictures.zen bowl, quinoa, eggs, carrot, tomato, spinach

Now I’ve seen how easy (and delicious) it is I’m going to change it up with different vegetables, and maybe some different grains.  I see the future, and it includes curried eggs, rice and butternut squash 🙂

(Yes, I confess, I made this first one on Saturday, and I have had a different variation each day since then – obsessed, moi? I’m sure I could make a series out of this one delicious meal!)

One more picture…

Zen emphasizes the attainment of enlightenmentWhat’s your quick go-to lunch or dinner?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Zen bowl: vegetarian, gluten free

  1. […] always keen to try something new, so I was ‘ready’ to try a Zen Bowl this time using black quinoa.  I’ve made successful versions with egg, or with […]

  2. […] my Zen bowls?  I made this one with quinoa, curried egg, tomato, and spinach.  topped with avocado and […]

Leave a Reply

