Butterbean bites: vegetarian, gluten free

I’ve been trying to master vegan and gluten free falafel and veggie burgers, but I seem to have trouble getting them to stick together.  I don’t want to fry them, so I have been trying to bake them, but they always crumble.

I have in the past had success at making veggie burgers with egg and breadcrumbs to bind.  But, I really wanted to make vegan and gluten free. I’ve settled for making them gluten free, for now. I’ll keep working on vegan baked falafel.

I had some leftover butterbeans and rice, so I thought i would give it a go.

carrots, rice, egg, butter bean, curry

butterbean bites

I pulsed the butterbeans, rice and some carrot in my food processor, but the texture wasn’t right, I knew they wouldn’t stay together.  I refuse to throw anything out, I just keep adding things to try to make it work (this has in the past resulted in some very strange dinners – sorry Ben!).  So I decided to just add an egg. They weren’t going to become the butterbean falafel I had in mind, so went for a curry flavour with a teaspon of curry powder.

The mixture was far too runny to hold it’s shape, so I split it between mini silicone cases to make veggie bites.

silicone muffin case, butterbean, carrot, rice, egg

baked butterbean bite

They were dense in texture, but nice with salad and Greek yogurt in my lunchbox.

butterbean bite, rice, egg, carrot, butter bean

close up

Butterbean bites

  • 1 medium egg
  • 65g butterbeans
  • 60g brown basmati rice, cooked
  • 80g raw carrots
  • 1 tsp gluten free curry powder or paste, or to taste.
  1. Place the carrots in the food processor and pulse until finely chopped.
  2. Add the beans, egg and curry powder and pulse until well combined but still with some texture.
  3. Stir in the cooked rice.
  4. Split the mixture between silicone muffin cases.
  5. Oven bake at 180C until patties come away from the side of the pan.
  6. Serve with salad and Greek yoghurt for dipping
Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

