Summer pudding overnight oats: vegan, gluten free, no added sugar

My fabulous colleague gave me some redcurrants from her garden – isn’t she lovely!  Redcurrants say to me one thing – summer pudding.

redcurrants

redcurrants

For the uninitiated, summer pudding is a casing of white bread which soaks up the juices from the filling of syrupy redcurrants, and other summer fruit such as blackcurrants, raspberries etc.

It was my Grampy’s favourite, and he liked it sharp!  As it turns out it’s Grampy’s birthday, so in memory of him I am posting my healthy take on summer pudding.

Grampy

Grampy

Now, on Monday I would have said: yeah, I’ll replace the white bread with thin slices of wholemeal bread fill with redcurrants – it’s ‘clean’ and yummy.  BUT, on Tuesday I noticed that I was looking rather bloated.  Then I realised it coincided with my decision to eat bread again.

I keep thinking: What’s all the fuss about?  I’m sure eating wheat is fine and I’m not one of those who is sensitive to gluten.  But then I notice I’m bloated, and it’s only then that I put 2 + 2 together.  Humph, I guess I had better stick to it in future.

So, next best thing – overnight oats.

Basically, like bircher muesli, you soak your oats overnight, so I figured that might work in place of the bread.

To quickly remove the currants from the stalk, carefully pull a fork down the stem, over a bowl, and they will all fall off easily.

redcurrants

removing stalks from the redcurrants

I used a clementine to sweeten the currants, rather than using a sugar or sweetener substitute.  I left one ring in the bottom of the bowl, so when it turned out it was on the top 🙂

summer pudding overnight oats

summer pudding overnight oats

Summer pudding overnight oats
Serves 1

  • 50g redcurrants
  • 80g (or one large) clementine
  • 30g oats
  • 10g strawberry or vanilla protein powder
  1. Peel the clementine, and slice into rings.
  2. Save one ring, and put it in the bottom of your bowl.  You can fill your bowl with clingfilm to stop the oats from sticking, and making it easier to turn out, but I didn’t bother with that stage.
  3. Put the rest of the clementine into a food processor with the redcurrants and protein power.  If you don’t like the seeds you can strain it at this stage – but I like the texture.
  4. Stir in the oats.
  5. Pour the oat mixture over the clementine in your bowl, and press down tightly.  put something heavy over the top of the oats to press down – I used the lid of a tupperware container that fit in the bowl, and weighted it down with a tin of tomatoes.  Place in the fridge overnight.
  6. In the morning, turn out and serve with a dollop of coconut cream or yogurt.
redcurrant and orange overnight oats

mmm…yummy

Happy birthday Grampy!  Share your Grampy/Granddad memories below.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

