Avocado noodle salad: gluten free, vegan option, raw option

Mmm…I really like this when I make it.  I have it for a few days, then I forget about it.  I resurrected the recipe this week.

With all the hot weather we are having, I fancied a light salad.  I didn’t want to do any cooking – just a bit of throwing it all together.

And I got to use my spiraliser again – whoop whoop!  I love that thing.

There was a time when I wouldn’t eat avocado.  Known as a high fat fruit/vegetable (technically it is a fruit because it has a stone) I wouldn’t touch it.  But I’ve seen the light, and know that it is full of ‘good’ fats and lots of vitamins.

I’m sure you know all this by now, but avocado is high in fiber, cholesterol free and full of unsaturated fats including omega-3 and oleic acid.  It’s also high in vitamins A, C, D, E, K (potassium) and some B vitamins.

I used the avocado as a dressing in this salad.  I know some people use predominantly avocado in this type of sauce, but to make things lighter and lower in fat (so I can still munch on other healthy fats like almonds, hummus etc) I bulked mine out with cottage cheese.  For a dairy free/vegan option you could instead use firm silken tofu, Mori Nu is my brand of choice.  But for those who do eat dairy – cottage cheese is low in fat and high in protein.  I used to be put off of it by certain comparisons (y’know what I mean???) but, I got over that and I love it 🙂

I was going to keep it as a raw courgette/zucchini noodle salad, but I had some brown rice spaghetti leftovers in the fridge, so I added them as my complex carbohydrate.  It’s up to you if you want to add them.

It’s gorgeous as it is, but I decided to top mine with some tinned crab meat for more low fat protein.

avocado, cottage cheese, courgette noodles, tomato, rocket

served simply

Avocado noodle salad
Serves 1

  • For the dressing
  • 1/2 a small or 1/4 large avocado – approx 30g
  • 50g cottage cheese – firm silken tofu would work as a vegan option
  • 5g nutritional yeast (optional)
  • For the salad
  • 80g spiralised courgette
  • 20g wild rocket (arugula)
  • 5 cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • cooked brown rice spaghetti (optional)
  1. For the dressing, put all the ingredients into your food processor and blitz until smooth.  Add a splash of water if it is too thick.
  2. You can soften your courgette noodles if you desire, boil or steam them for a couple of minutes, or put them on the dehydrator if you want to keep it raw.
  3. Put your salad ingredients into a bowl, pour over the sauce and toss until coated.
  4. Top as desired, and serve.
avocado, cottage cheese, courgette noodles, tomato, rocket

Topped with protein of choice

How do you get your regular dose of good fats?  Are you an avocado lover or a hater?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

