Gooseberry crumble slice

gooseberry, gooseberries

gooseberries

Whats green and hairy and goes up and down?

A gooseberry in a lift. 😀

OK, so that’s a really cheesy joke – sorry!

The in laws came round at the weekend and brought me this big pile of gooseberries.  I love getting free food grown in someones garden (who doesn’t).  I once had a vegetable patch, and I’ve tried growing vegetables in tubs in the past.  It’s a no go at the flat though.

I was berry very pleased to get the goodies – but I didn’t really know what to do with them.  Ben doesn’t like them so they are all for me. Mother in law challenged me to make a smoothie – so expect one of these in the coming days.  They also make a nice tart sauce for some meats, but I tend to eat my fruit at breakfast.

Gooseberries can be quite tart, and I know I didn’t want to add much sweetener.  The riper, darker, going towards brown coloured ones are sweeter then the less ripe bright green ones.  I decided my start point would be a breakfast crumble, a bit like the one I did with rhubarb (my lovely in laws again).

I thought I would change it up by having a base of oat mixture, followed by a layer of gooseberry filling, topped with more oats.  A bit of a gooseberry slice.

However, it didn’t end up much like a slice – I couldn’t remove it without it falling apart – the lack of oils to hold it together I guess.  But the oats counterbalanced the tartness of the fruit beautifully.

gooseberry, oats, almonds, cinnamon

gooseberry breakfast crumble slice

I wondered what would pair nicely with gooseberries, and also if I could get away without sweetener.  I thought a bit of cinnamon in the oats, and some fresh root ginger in the gooseberry mix.  I then completely forgot about the ginger, so it went without – oops.

Gooseberry Crumble Breakfast Slice
Serves 1

  • 100g gooseberries
  • 30g oats
  • 10g almonds
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • ginger if you remember
  1. Prepare the gooseberries by top and tailing them to remove the stalk and the other end bit (???)
  2. Put the gooseberries and about 4-5 small slices of ginger in your food processor and blitz to form a thick ‘sauce’.  Taste and add a sweetener of your choice, to taste.  I didn’t add any.
  3. Empty the sauce into a separate bowl.
  4. Put the almonds and oats in the food processor and pulse to break down the nuts and form a lighter smaller grain to the oats.  Add a pinch of cinnamon, to taste.
  5. Empty half the oats into your cooking dish.  You could add a dash of orange juice, coconut oil or nut butter to try to form a more solid base.
  6. Cover in the layer of gooseberry filling, and then sprinkle over the last of the oat mixture.
  7. Pop in a hot oven for 20 minutes – I had the oven on for other things – it seems daft to put it on just for this.
  8. Chill and serve with a dollop of Greek yoghurt or vegan alternative.
gooseberry breakfast slice, oats, gooseberry, almonds cinnamon

mmm..breakfast

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gooseberry crumble slice

  1. awesomeashild July 24, 2013 at 10:35 am Reply

    I remember we had these in the garden when growing up, and that they were so sour!

    • Emily Hawkes July 24, 2013 at 12:12 pm Reply

      My great grandma used to call them ‘goosegogs’. I’ve always had quite a tolerance for sour things. My hubby might say I am what I eat 🙂

Leave a Reply

