Edamame amaranth burgers: vegan, gluten free

I guess I could call these Edamaranth burgers – but then you wouldn’t know what I was banging on about.  This was my second attempt at making burgers with amaranth – my first attempt at was a bit of a disaster.

baked bean and amaranth

not gone to plan

I outlined some of the nutritional benefits of amaranth before, but a quick recap:

  • Amaranth is a seed, but can be used as a ‘grain’ in recipes
  • Amaranth contains more protein than any other gluten-free grains, including lysine, ‘albumins’ and ‘globulins’ which are easier to digest than wheat proteins
  • Amaranth contains more iron, magnesium and fibre than other gluten-free grains
  • Amaranth is second only to teff in calcium content
  • Amaranth contains Vitamin E in similar amounts to olive oil

I have a bag of amaranth open, so I thought I would give it another go. I refuse to be beaten by a recipe.

I wanted to keep them simple, natural and healthy.

  • I could have added egg to bind, BUT I wanted them vegan
  • I could have added flax seed to bind, BUT I wanted them low fat
  • I could have added breadcrumbs to make them stick together, BUT I wanted them gluten free
  • Overall, I wanted the flavours to shine through

They were lovely and crunchy having been cooked in the oven but didn’t hold together very well, and crumbled a bit on serving.

According to calculations from MyFitnessPal nutrition for two large patties:

213 calories,
23g carbs,
5g fat,
14g protein

Edamame Amaranth burgers
Serves 1

  • 20g amaranth
  • 20g yellow split peas
  • 50g edamame beans
  • dash tamari sauce
  1. Simply cook the amaranth, split peas and edamame beans according to pack instructions.  I put the amaranth and split peas in my slow cooker on med-high for 1 hour.  Cook the edamame beans separately.
  2. Preheat oven to 200C and prepare a baking sheet.
  3. Place all the ingredients in a food processor and pulse until textured, but starting to stick together.
  4. Form into two patties, and put in the oven until cooked, 20-30 mins.  They will go brown and crunchy on the outside.

edamame, amaranth, split pea, burger, vegan. vegetarian

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Edamame amaranth burgers: vegan, gluten free

  1. Shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com July 23, 2013 at 4:45 pm Reply

    These burgers look great!
    Before I stumbled on your blog, I didn’t know much about amaranth – now you have piqued my curiosity – is amaranth higher in protein than quinoa?

  2. CortneyStanchfield July 23, 2013 at 5:08 pm Reply

    These look delicious! Thank you for the awesome recipe! 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes July 24, 2013 at 7:27 am Reply

      Thanks Cortney! I’m guessing you will have to sub out the edamame (soya) beans though. xx

      • CortneyStanchfield July 24, 2013 at 2:52 pm

        Yes I will! 🙂 You are correct!

      • Emily Hawkes July 31, 2013 at 7:54 am

        Let me know how it goes! xx

  3. […] outlined the nutritional benefits of amaranth before.  A quick recap, they are high in protein, iron, magnesium, Vitamin E and fibre.  They […]

  4. […] about the health benefits of amaranth. Amaranth can take 20 minutes to cook, so I cooked mine to about 75% done and then cooked them off […]

Leave a Reply

