Fruit custard, no cook version, vegan, gluten free

kiwi, watermelon, banana, yogurt

fruit custard

  1. yoghurt based banana custard
  2. watermelon custard
  3. kiwi custard
  4. no cook kiwi custard

After making my breakfast rice it got me thinking about custard.  It was the talk about Ambrosia rice pudding – I was also a fan of ambrosia custard.  It’s not really the healthiest. I was wondering how I might make a healthy custard, and in particular banana custard.

This is were version 1 came in.  This was an attempt at a Greek yoghurt custard. I added saffron to make it yellow, egg white to thicken, and vanilla for flavour.  But, I wasn’t happy enough with it to share with you.  I liked it, but the texture was grainy, and the flavour wasn’t sweet enough for me to be happy to share the recipe on the blog.

banana custard, yoghurt, yogurt, banana, saffron, egg white

I enjoyed it

I kind of forgot about it, but then I ended up with some watermelon slices.  Did I share how that played out?  We went to the cinema one afternoon.  I was peckish and didn’t have any snacks with me.  Ben needed change to park, so he popped into the supermarket.  The conversation went like this:

B: I’ll get you a snack, maybe some carrot sticks and hummus?
E:  Thank you, but I had carrots earlier, so I don’t really want those.  I don’t want anything sweet either
B: I know, nothing sweet. I’ll see what I can find.
B returns with carrot sticks and hummus, and some watermelon slices that were selling off.

Great!  It’s the thought that counts!

I didn’t eat them, but brought them home and put them in the freezer.  I was searching online for a recipe to use the watermelon when I came across watermelon custard on Healthy.  Happy. Life. at lunchboxbunch.com – vegan, healthy.  Perfect for breakfast.  Custard number two.  I still wasn’t happy with the recipe, it was speckled and although tasty – the sight of it didn’t light up a fire in me.

Watermelon custard
Serves 1

  • 75g frozen watermelon
  • 100g firm silken tofu
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 7g cornflour
  • 7g vanilla protein powder
  • 7g honey, brown rice syrup or maple syrup
  • nuts and custard/vegan alternative to serve
  1. Place ingredients in the food processor and process until smooth.
  2. Pour into a non-stick pan over a medium heat, stirring continuously.
  3. Empty into a container and chill until ready to serve.
  4. Add your toppings and serve.

I had some kiwi fruit which i bought when they were selling off at the supermarket. I’m not a big fan of kiwi – it makes my tongue feel funny, and it’s not my favourite taste.  I thought I would try the recipe again, this time with kiwi.  Winner!

It stayed thick and creamy.  It masked the tingle on my tongue while still tasting good.  I had lime rather than lemon, and I liked the tang.

Kiwi custard
Serves 1

  • 80g kiwi fruit
  • 75g firm silken tofu
  • juice of half a lime
  • 7g cornflour
  • 7g vanilla protein powder
  • 7g honey, brown rice syrup or maple syrup
  • nuts and custard/vegan alternative to serve
  1. Place ingredients in the food processor and process until smooth.
  2. Pour into a non-stick pan over a medium heat, stirring continuously.
  3. Empty into a container and chill until ready to serve.
  4. Add your toppings and serve.

But then I read an article which referred to xanthan gum as the healthy alternative to cornflour.

I’ve just googled it, according to wikipedia:

One of the most remarkable properties of xanthan gum is its ability to produce a large increase in the viscosity of a liquid by adding a very small quantity of gum

So what is it?  It’s is a polysaccharide (ie multi-sugar) secreted by bacteria in the fermentation of glucose, sucrose or lactose dried and ground into a fine powder. Hmm, I know fermented foods are good for you but this doesn’t sound quite the same.  Xanthan gum can cause allergic reactions in people with wheat, soy or corn allergies.

I had some in the cupboard I bought to make vegetarian marshmallows.  i had no ideas what to do with the rest.  So I tried the custard again, this time with xanthan gum. I subbed in half a teaspoon of xanthan gum for the cornflour. Wow!  I didn’t even need to cook it before it had formed a thick custard texture.  A no cook creamy breakfast.

I went back to lemon juice because I used the last of my lemon 🙂 and cut out the sweetener – it was great as it was!

Kiwi custard version 2
Serves 1

  • 80g kiwi fruit
  • 75g firm silken tofu
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 4g xanthan gum
  • 7g vanilla protein powder
  • nuts and custard/vegan alternative to serve
  1. Place ingredients in the food processor and process until smooth.
  2. Empty into a container and chill until ready to serve.
  3. Add your toppings and serve.

What no cook dishes are you enjoying at the moment?  What are your favourite non-sweet snacks?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

