Tofu feta, vegan, gluten free, no cook

Having read that tofu isn’t that great, I really feel that I should be cutting back.  but it is also a brilliant low fat, high protein ingredient to keep in the cupboard.  It’s great to add vegan protein to smoothies, soup and for making this vegan feta cheese!  And who doesn’t love a great no cook meal in this heat?!

So, if you don’t mind eating tofu, I will share this recipe.

I rather like the idea of making vegan cheese.  I recently posted my recipe for making tempeh chèvre.  Now, I don’t mind eating a bit of low fat cheese – cottage cheese, babybel light and low fat mozzarella being some go-to ingredients that I might have in my fridge.  But sometimes I feel I’ve had enough dairy, or I might be feeling like a vegan day, or want something lower fat than I’m getting from my cheeses.  However, so many are made with nuts and I freak out a bit about having ‘too much’ fat in my diet.

I enjoyed real feta when I was in Cyprus, but only in small doses.  Although the real stuff is good, some of it is a bit salty for my liking. So I thought i would give this vegan tofu feta a go.

I saw the recipe on Keepin’ it Kind (go and vote for Kristy at Skinny Scoop) during Vegan Pizza Day, and added it to the ‘back-of-my-mind-to-do-list’.

cubes of tofu, lemon, herb, miso, marinade

tofu in marinade

Tofu Feta
Makes 3-4 portions

  • 300g firm silken tofu (I used Mori Nu)
  • 25g sweet white miso paste
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1.5tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 1tsp basil, dried
  • 1tsp oregano, dried
lemon, basil, oregano, miso, lemon juice

tofu feta marinade

  1. Mix together all the ingredients, apart from the tofu, to get a marinade.
  2. Wrap the tofu in some kitchen paper and give it a bit of a squeeze without breaking it up.
  3. Cube the tofu as best as you can.
  4. Add the tofu to the marinate and coat gently.  Leave for 4 hours to overnight.  The tofu should absorb any excess liquid.

Use it in salads, crumbled over pasta or rice dishes, or, how I particularly liked it – on a vegan pizza.

raw vegan bread, courgette, pizza, tofu feta

tofu feta pizza

I simply took half a slice of Raw Health Raw Onion bread, smothered it with tomato salsa, piled high with cooked courgette and topped with feta – Mmmm!

Get over to Skinny Scoop and vote for Kristy and then go and enjoy your weekend!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Tofu feta, vegan, gluten free, no cook

  1. Angie July 20, 2013 at 12:08 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Angies Grapevine.

Leave a Reply

