Oven baked curly fries

So my first attempt at these was not terribly successful, but I wasn’t about to give up.  I am a cancerian, I don’t’ know if that makes me stubborn?  I was born in the year of the Ox, maybe that has something to do with it??

But Ben was glad I did try again, because this time they were much better!

I haven’t given exact quantities, because mine was a bit ‘throw-it-together’.  I’m not sure how far you will make it go.  I use two or three small-medium potatoes for one portion.  I think it was about 1 teaspoon each of olive oil, fajita seasoning mix and peanut butter.

curly fried prebakes

prebaked

Curly fries

  • potatoes, I used red desiree
  • oil, I used mild and light olive oil
  • smooth peanut butter
  • fajita spice mix (seasoning – I used Old el Paso)
spiraliser, potatoes, curly fries

spiralised potatoes

  1. Heat oven to 200C (390F).  Lightly oil a baking tray/sheet.
  2. Rough peel the potatoes – you don’t need to get all the peel off.  I used the excess potato skins to make potato crisps.
  3. Put the potatoes through a spiraliser on the thick setting.
  4. Mix together the fajita seasoning with the peanut butter to make a paste – by hand with a spoon is fine.  Slowly add the oil until you get a ‘salad cream type consistency’ (Sorry I can’t think of a better way to describe it)
  5. Add the potatoes to the dressing.
  6. Spread the potatoes out on the baking tray as best you can, if they are too crowded they won’t crisp up very well.
  7. Put in the oven for 20 minutes or until browned and getting crispy at the edges.  Mine crunched up more between removing from the oven and serving.
curly fried served

curly fries served

Not my best picture, but you get the idea.  They were crunchy, spicy, and best of all healthier than the ones you get at the supermarket!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Oven baked curly fries

  1. […] it. I use it to make courgette noodles in place of spaghetti or in a stir-fry, I used it to make my curly fries, I like to use it to get a variety of textures in a salad, you can use it to make coleslaw.  Or, […]

  2. […] with my curly fries – quantities depends on how many you make, but the ingredients are as […]

Leave a Reply

