‘Sundried’ tomato hummus

A question to kick off this post…What do you do with your banana skins?  I went to peel a banana this morning and about 5 fell off the bunch. BUM!  I quickly peeled them and put them in the freezer – banana soft serve result!  But then I was left with a pile of skins.  I’ve heard people use them to shine shoes.  BUT, I also know they are great for roses – it’s all the potassium.  I went straight outside and put them around the bottom of the roses in the garden.  Here’s a test I did earlier in the year and forgot to share:

roses fed with banana skins, feed roses, banana skins

Left – with banana; right, without banana

The photos were taken only a couple of days after I put the banana skins down.  Beautiful!

Anyway, this is a food blog…Following on from my edamamus post, I thought I would share this gorgeous sundried tomato hummus.  I love it as a snack with some cucumber sticks, or on top of a salad.  It would make a great sandwich filling or topping for a jacket potato.

I like a good hummus, but to add in more veggies (OK, tomatoes are a fruit – to up my five a day) and to give it more of a sweet kick, I added some dried tomatoes.  You could use sundried tomatoes from a jar, but I dried my own tomatoes using the dehydrator.  It does heat up the kitchen a bit in this hot weather though!  It was worth it to make this lovely dip; it’s great for the summer, and perfect for picnics and barbeques.

dehydrator tomatoes

dehydrator tomatoes

OK, you got me, that’s a photo from earlier in the year when I made beetroot crisps, but hey, I forgot to take a photo this time around.

sundried tomato hummus, tomatoes, tahini, chickpeas, garlic

Somehow I forgot the garlic in this picture.  I might have mentioned this before, but garlic does give me tummy-ache.  I’ve found that by roasting a bulb, and either freezing or refrigerating the peeled cloves, I always have garlic on hand which doesn’t give me gut-rot 🙂

I didn’t want too strong a tahini flavour, so I used a fairly small amount, change it up according to your tastes – you might find you want a stronger tomato, garlic or tahini flavour.

‘Sundried’ Tomato Hummus
Serves 2

  • 100g tinned chickpeas, reserve the liquid
  • 8 cherry tomatoes, dried in the oven, or dehydrator
  • 6g tahini
  • 1 clove of garlic, roasted
  • Juice of half a lemon
  1. Place all the ingredients in a food processor, and pulse until blended.
  2. Add the chickpea liquid 1 teaspoon at a time until it is the right consistency to your tastes
  3. Serve sprinkled with paprika (optional, but I like)
vegetable quinao, sundried tomato hummus, chickpeas

served atop a vegetable quinoa bowl

Back to my earlier question – what do you do with your banana skins?  Do you have any good kitchen leftover tips?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “‘Sundried’ tomato hummus

  1. […] I get my crunch from raw vegetables and dips.  I love my edamamus, dried tomato hummus, and now my miso peasy […]

  2. […] have a number of dips I like to make, including sundried tomato hummus, miso peasy dip or edamamus. Step away from the chips and serve it with some crudites, raw […]

Leave a Reply

