Love your leftovers: curry

My brother was visiting last weekend, so we enjoyed a rare takeaway.  I cooked rice, so that we could have brown basmati, rather than the plain rice served at the local Indian takeaway.

There is always so much curry leftover, but I love that because we can use it to make meals the next day.  I used leftover rice (I made extra) in my breakfast, and used the leftover curry, naan, salad and onion bhajis (this is what happens when you send men to get takeaway) in Ben’s lunch the next day.

I cooked extra brown basmati rice because I fancied some creamy breakfast rice.  Not a far cry from overnight oats, or bircher muesli, the leftover rice is used to create a breakfast style ‘rice pudding’.  In the past I’ve bought Ambrosia low fat rice pudding; I remember comparing it to a certain man around that time: although tasty, it was lacking in substance!

In your own homemade version you can make it as thick and ‘ricey’ as you like.  I like it creamy, cool and sweet with berries – in this case strawberries.

rice, yogurt, strawberries, coconut cream,

strawberry breakfast rice

Strawberry breakfast rice
Serves 1

  • Leftover cooked rice – I had about 75-100g
  • 100g plain 0% fat Greek yoghurt or vegan alternative (whipped coconut cream would work really well!)
  • 80g strawberries
  • chia seeds (optional)
  • 1 scoop strawberry protein powder (optional)
  • toppings, I had some honey (vegan alternative) and carrot cake granola for some crunch
  1. Roughly mash the strawberries.  If there is too much liquid for your tastes you could add in some chia seeds.
  2. Put two thirds of the strawberries in your serving dish
  3. If using, stir your protein powder into the yoghurt and mix until smooth with no lumps, it will make for a very thick yoghurt.  Add the rice and yoghurt to the remaining strawberries.
  4. Top the strawberry ‘jam’ with your rice mixture.
  5. Chill until ready to serve.  Sprinkle over toppings for sweetness and or texture.

strawberry rice breakfast

Leftover Curry Sandwich

curry, indian takeout, sandwich

leftover takeout sandwich

For lunch I made Ben a curry naan sandwich with leftover curry.  I bought some supermarket naan breads, and we had those leftover, so I simply sandwiched the curry between the naan breads.  A bit messy, but Ben was pleased.  Served with the leftover salad, sauces, and onion bhaji.

naan bread, leftovers, indian takeaway

love your leftovers – sandwich

What do you do with your leftovers – share your favourite tips below!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Love your leftovers: curry

  1. Kammie @ Sensual Appeal July 15, 2013 at 7:07 pm Reply

    Your Strawberry Breakfast Rice sounds like it’s right up my alley… nice and creamy. Just the way I like it 🙂 Nice one!

    • Emily Hawkes July 16, 2013 at 9:27 am Reply

      Thanks Kammie! I like it creamy (yogurty 🙂 ) too!

  2. […] making my breakfast rice it got me thinking about custard.  It was the talk about Ambrosia rice pudding – I was also […]

  3. […] made jam for my breakfast rice – I did the same thing here with the blackberries.  Simply mash the berries and add chia […]

Leave a Reply

