Secret ingredient chocolate brownies

Oh my goodness! One of my favourite bloggers liked a post on my Facebook page!!!!  Sorry for the many exclamation points, but very excited…

Anyway…to today’s post…

In the past I’ve used beetroot, sweet potato and mayonnaise to make chocolate brownies.  Quite rightly my brother doesn’t trust any cakes or bakes I put in front of him.

Not content with making the banoffee cake on my birthday, I also took in some secret ingredient brownies.

They went down really well at work, despite being ‘advertised’ as ‘Secret Ingredient Brownies’: people love a challenge!

After what felt like a game of 20 questions, and with many clues:

Them: Is it fruit?

Them: Is it a vegetable?

Them: Is it pot? – No, it’s not!

Them: Is it a root vegetable?

Them: Give us a clue…

Me: I follow lots of American and Canadian blogs…

Them: Is it zucchini?

Them: Is it pumpkin?

Well done that girl!

I practiced making them last weekend, and added some peanut butter uncooked cookie dough to form a layer on top.  With some chocolate melted on top they were bites of decedent deliciousness.

brownie, cookie dough, peanut butter, vegan, chocolate

with oaty peanut cookie dough

I had some vegan chocolate chips which I bought back along and was looking for a good use for.

vegan chocolate drops

vegan chocolate drops

Oh my, I couldn’t for the life of me remember where I saw the recipe, but found it.  I was Angela at Oh She Glows: Pumpkin Pie Brownie ‘Cupcakes’

I made mine as a traybake rather than cupcakes, I think they go further, which is a good thing when you are sharing them out at work because they disappeared really quickly!

secret ingredient brownies

secret ingredient brownies

Using spelt flour, these are not gluten free.  But as I outlined before it has many nutritional benefits.

Pumpkin BrowniesMakes  – depends how big you want them

  • 200g canned pumpkin
  • 50g light soft brown sugar
  • 50g coconut oil, softened
  • 100g wholemeal kamut flour (or white)
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1 tbsp corn flour
  • 20g raw cacao powder
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  1. Preheat oven to 180C and prepare a baking tin.
  2. Mix together the pumpkin, sugar, coconut oil and vanilla
  3. Sift together the kamut flour, corn flour, salt, baking powder and cacao
  4. Gently add the dry ingredients to the wet and combine
  5. Put in the oven for 20 minutes.  Check to see that it is dry around the edges. you want brownies more moist and less cakey.
  6. Leave to cool, then slice.

Enjoy!

I’m off for some birthday party fun. Can you guess what we are doing?

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Secret ingredient chocolate brownies

  1. Kammie @ Sensual Appeal July 15, 2013 at 7:14 pm Reply

    I have yet to use corn flour in baking! Maybe you just convinced me 😉

    • Emily Hawkes July 16, 2013 at 9:25 am Reply

      Thanks Kammie – watch this space, I used a little corn flour in the kiwi custard I made for breakfast – mmm…delish!

  2. Kristy July 16, 2013 at 11:16 pm Reply

    I love pumpkin anything- I’m sure these brownies were fantastic! 🙂

    • Emily Hawkes July 17, 2013 at 8:07 am Reply

      Thanks Kirsty for checking out my blog. As I’m in the UK, I’ve never had canned pumpkin before. I’m only just getting interested in it, and use your blog as inspiration! xxx

Leave a Reply

