Banoffee cake: vegan, gluten free banana and caramel birthday cake

It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to…Well, no party, but it is my birthday. What have I to cry about, my hubby brought me breakfast in bed 🙂

breakfast in bed, birthday

breakfast in bed

Blogging on my birthday – oh yeah!  Well, I’ve got to tell you about my birthday cake…

birthday banoffee cake

birthday cake

I saw a recipe for Fudge, and it got me thinking how I would make it vegan, as you do.  The recipe simply called for butter, cream, sugar and vanilla.  I figured there are natural non-dairy versions of butter and cream, so it wouldn’t be that hard…?

Having said that, I have now renamed the post Coconut caramel – I think I didn’t boil it for long enough. Anyway, still good to eat, even better to top my birthday banana cake 🙂

My order from Real Foods hadn’t come (it has now), so I had to make do with some Coconut Manna I had in the cupboard.  I read recipes that contain coconut butter vs coconut oil, but when I have opened jars of both before I sometimes haven’t been able to tell the difference.  Not with this coconut Manna though.  The oil had separated and was sat on top, but what was underneath was different to anything I have used before.  It was slightly grainy, a more beige colour than the white of coconut oil.

The difference between coconut oil and coconut butter?  Coconut oil just contains the oil, the coconut butter is made from the flesh of the coconut.  I’m sure some companies use the terms interchangeably though!

coconut oil, coconut manna

coconut oil vs coconut manna

So, I started with the caramel

coconut manna, coconut cream, sugar

vegan caramel ingredients

Vegan Coconut Caramel

  • 50g coconut manna
  • 1 package of UHT coconut cream (250ml)
  • 450g soft light brown sugar
  • 1 vanilla pod
sugar and coconut oil melting

melting

  1. Melt together the coconut manna and sugar
  2. It will be very hot, so take care.  Gently stir in the coconut cream.  If you can’t get coconut cream, use the solids from a chilled can of full fat coconut milk
  3. Keep bubbling until the sauce thickens to a caramel consistency.  Stir in the seeds from the vanilla pod.
  4. Pour into a container, and chill.
vegan coconut caramel

vegan caramel

Banana cake, gluten free

banana and toffee cake topped and untopped

topped and untopped

Based on Oh She Glows Rustic Banana Oat Cake

  • 170g regular oats, processed into a flour
  • 40g porridge oats
  • 90g brown sugar
  • 1 heaped teaspoon mixed spice
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 2 medium ripe bananas
  • 60mls coconut water
  • 100g apple sauce, no added sugar
  • 60g raisins or currants, 50g chopped walnuts, 1 ripe banana cut into chunks
  1. Preheat oven to 180C.
  2. In a large bowl mix together the oats (processed and not processed) brown sugar, mixed spice, baking powder and salt.
  3. In a smaller bowl mash the 2 ripe bananas and stir in the apple sauce, coconut oil and coconut water.
  4. Add the wet ingredients in the small bowl to the dry ingredients and stir to combine.
  5. Fold in the raisins, walnuts and the other banana
  6. Pour into a 20cm round baking tin.  Bake for 30mins or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Try it in a couple of spots in case you hit a cooked banana.
  7. While still warm add the coconut caramel and allow to melt across the top, spreading where necessary.
mmm...cake!

mmm…cake!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Banoffee cake: vegan, gluten free banana and caramel birthday cake

  1. Angie July 11, 2013 at 10:01 am Reply

    Happy Birthday Emily!!!! Hope you enjoy your day!!! Your bd cake looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

