Pimp my snack: marshmallow teacake

I got my order from Real Foods – just in time for my birthday.  Yes, tomorrow I will be turning 28!

Real Foods order, kombucha, raw bread, coconut oil, magnesium flakesThe coconut oil will be perfect for making my birthday cake, we will be toasting with Kombucha (I’ve never tried it before, so expect a review), and I hope to be soaking my feet with the magnesium flakes – I’ll let you know how that goes too!

For anyone interested in how the 30 day abs challenge is going, I am now on Day 9, yesterday was a rest day.  It certainly is time consuming, but I’m still keeping with it!

30 day ab challenge

30 day Abs workout

Now to the marshmallow teacakes…I saw these back along in Costa, and decided there and then, I had to give it a go.  I bought one for Ben after our Sunday swim, and took some photos so I wouldn’t forget.  It stayed in the back of my mind, but I decided that this weekend was the weekend to try it! (The Marshmallow Fluff was open and these had to be made before I used it all!

Shop bought, Costa, Marshmallow teacakesFor anyone unaccustomed to Marshmallow Teacakes, Tunnocks describe theirs as:

Soft marshmallow on a biscuit base fully coated in real milk chocolate

As you can see, the Costa teacakes are made with a chocolate spongy base.  I stuck to Digestive biscuits, closer to the Tunnocks version.  OK, so they are made with made it with fluff, which is not a ‘natural’ ingredient, so sue me.  I don’t think you are going to find a healthy, natural alternative to this treat.  Let me know if you do!

The ingredients in Marshmallow fluff are: Corn Syrup, Sugar Syrup, Dried Egg Whites and Vanillin.  Not great.  Vanillin is a synthesized component of the extract of the vanilla bean – if that means anything to you.

So now I’ve added the health warning…let’s get on with it:

Fluff, marshmallow teacake

Homemade mallow teacake

Homemade Marshmallow Teacakes
2 Teacakes

It’s more of an assembly of ingredients than an actual recipe, but I’ll take you through it…

  • 100g dark or milk chocolate
  • 4 tablespoons of Marshmallow Fluff
  • 2 Digestive biscuits (graham crackers)
  • 2 teaspoons of chocolate spread, such as nutella

1. Melt the chocolate in a bain marie, or over a pan of simmering water
2. Coat your ‘mould’ with a layer of chocolate.  Finding the right mould was the hardest part – something the same size as a digestive biscuit, but deep enough to hold plenty of filling.  I used a silicone cake case, which made it easier to remove on completion.

chocolate coated mould

stage 1

3. Put the mould in the fridge to set. I put mine in the freezer for 10-15 minutes to speed up the process.
4. Half-fill the chocolate with Marshmallow Fluff, add a secret teaspoon of chocolate spread, and cover again with more Fluff

marshmallow and chocoalte

stage 2 – sneaky chocolate filling

5. Pour chocolate over this and press on your digestive biscuit.  Coat again in chocolate.

marshmallow teacake stage 3

stage 3

6.Put in the freezer for 15-30 minutes depending on your freezer – we only have an icebox in the fridge.
7. Peel off the silicone case while still fairly solid. Let it thaw a little, enjoy!

homemade marshmallow teacakes

can you spot the little hole – track it back to stage 1!

Now I guess I had better enjoy my last day of being 27!  What should I do???

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

