Edamamus: vegan, gluten free

So what is edamamus?  It is Edamame (soya bean) hummus – yay!  There are two ways of making edamamus:

  1. Edamame beans and chickpeas
  2. Edamame beans without filler ingredients

This recipe covers the latter.

edamame hummus, crudites

edamamus with crudites

I have been loving frozen soya beans lately.  Ben told me to buy some, I wasn’t convinced.  Ben bought me some – I LOVE THEM!  I love them as a snack on their own, or with a dash of tamari; I love them in a stir fry; I love them in a noodle soup; with courgette noodle salads.

Although after my tempeh post, I think I might have to cut back a bit 😦

In researching my tempeh post, I learned that soya beans must be cooked with a wet heat:

For human consumption, soybeans must be cooked with “wet” heat to destroy the trypsin inhibitors (serine protease inhibitors). Raw soybeans, including the immature green form, are toxic to humans, swine, chickens, and in fact, all monogastric animals

The lovely people at Bird’s Eye tell me that their beans are not cooked, but blanched for 30 seconds.  They always advise consumers to follow the packet instructions given as:

  • Boil 3 mins;
  • Place in pan;
  • Add boiling water to cover;
  • Bring back to the boil;
  • Cover pan;
  • Simmer for 3 mins.

So I will ensure I do this from now on!

I served my Edamamus with crudites on day one, and I also turned some into edamamus sushi on day two.

Edamamus, quinoa and cucumber sushi rolls

Edamamus, quinoa and cucumber sushi rolls

Looks like tuna in there?  It’s actually quinoa with peanut butter, tamari and miso paste – yum!

Edamamus
Serves 2

  • 100g frozen soya beans (I used Bird’s Eye)
  • 1 clove of garlic, cooked
  • 7g tahini paste
  • lemon juice, to taste
  1. Boil your soya beans according to the packet instructions
  2. Place all ingredients into your food processor and blitz until smooth
  3. I like my hummus quite thick, if you want it runnier add a little water
  4. Serve.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Edamamus: vegan, gluten free

  1. […] I get my crunch from raw vegetables and dips.  I love my edamamus, dried tomato hummus, and now my miso peasy […]

  2. […] have a number of dips I like to make, including sundried tomato hummus, miso peasy dip or edamamus. Step away from the chips and serve it with some crudites, raw vegetables such as cucumber, carrot […]

Leave a Reply

