Almond and rye shortbread

Is it just me?  I felt quite guilty when I was told someone had a dream about me and I was being mean.  I was quite upset with myself as if I had actually snapped at them.  Ben thinks I’m nuts!

It’s a bit warm at the moment, so I don’t blame you if you don’t want to put the oven on, but this is a nice treat to have with some strawberries and ice cream!

almond rye shortbread

Almond rye shortbread

I found two bags of rye flour in the back of my cupboard – two?  Yes, two!  So I thought I had better start finding a use for them.  I found this recipe on Dove’s Farm website, and used my own quantities according to the almonds and butter I had (and i mis-remembered how much sugar was in the recipe 🙂 )

This isn’t gluten free – rye is closely related to wheat and barley and does contain gluten.  But for those cutting out wheat-gluten, you might find that rye is easier on your digestive system.  It is high in gliadin but low in glutenin, so is lower in gluten than wheat flour.  With 13.4g of fibre per 100g it is also a good source of fibre.

Almonds have a high Vitamin E content which is good for the skin and can be linked to improved complexion.  Studies have linked a daily intake of almonds with a reduction in factors associated with heart disease, including lower cholesterol and blood lipids.

I used butter instead of coconut oil, or another vegan alternative, because I’m waiting on my delivery of coconut oil, which I hope I get before my birthday, or there will be no cake!

almond wholemeal shortbread

Almond Rye Shortbread

  • 120g ground almonds
  • 120g rye flour
  • 120g cold butter
  • 85g soft brown sugar
  1. Preheat oven to 150C.
  2. Pulse all the ingredients in your food processor until a crumbly dough forms – don’t overdo it or your shortbread could end up tough
  3. Press the mixture into an oiled 20cm round tin
  4. Mark your portions, and pierce all over with a fork
  5. Bake for for 45 minutes until golden.

I put a couple of slices back in the oven for my friend who likes it just on the right side of burnt!

It is best eaten within a couple of days, it got more tough than crispy after that – though still tasty.  It would also make an awesome crumble topping.  I’m not sure if it would freeze – if you try it, let me know!

Now if you have a dream about me shouting at you – please don’t tell me 😦  Please assure me I’m not alone…

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

