Man vs burger – honey roast peanut bean burgers: vegetarian

I’m told it is World Chocolate Day today, 7th July – But I didn’t know that so I haven’t prepared anything.  I have some chocolate treats in the fridge that I will share with you later in the week, but they’re not ready yet.

So with all this glorious sunny weather here in the UK, I will share with you this feast of a burger!

DISCLAIMER: although called Man-burger, this can equally be eaten by a woman!

Man burger, baked bean, peanut veggie burger

Man burger

I’ve mentioned before how Ben has limited tastes when it comes to vegetarian foods.  He’s not keen on many bean varieties, nor tofu, tempeh or nuts beyond peanuts (they’re a legume!), nutella (2 whole hazlenuts indeed) or a Ferrero Rocher.  I can’t see him becoming vegan, ever.  When I first suggested the idea of Meat-free Mondays, he looked at me as if I had ‘lost it’, I think I mentioned this in a blog post before.  I introduced him to lentil soups, lentil pasta sauces, and meat-free pizza.

This time I was determined to cook him a veggie burger.  I suggested the idea and the conversation went something like this:

E: Right, I’m going to make you a veggie burger, any suggestions how I can make it appeal to you?
B: I’ve had veggie burgers before, I don’t like them
E: I’m not suggesting a processed frozen veggie burger, it’ll be an Emily-veggie burger
B: (begrudgingly) why don’t you just make it with baked beans
E: (thinks) Fab, permission!!!!

So I gave some thought about how I would make this work.  It had to be good, or he would never trust a veggie burger of mine again.

Baked beans was a good start, but I had to make this burger epic!  Ben does love his peanuts (tee hee) so those were going in there.  And not any old peanuts, these had to be flavoured ones.  I considered spicy peanuts, dry roasted peanuts, but settled on some honey roast peanuts I found.

I wasn’t messing.  I’ve had disasters before, so I went with a tried and tested method and used breadcrumbs and an egg to bind.  If gluten free you can happily substitute gluten-free bread.  If vegan please use an egg substitute.  I was VERY tempted to use flax-egg (1 part flaxseed:3 parts water) but as I said: the stakes were high!

Back to making this burger epic – I bought some seeded burger buns, and considered my toppings.  Salad, onions, and ketchup were going to feature.  Some nice melty cheese wouldn’t go amiss either.

You could use other toppings you enjoy: vegan coleslaw, vegan mayonnaise, mustard, avocado, hummus, sliced onions, fried onions, etc – this is YOUR burger, make it your way!

bean and peanut burgers with cheese

bean and peanut burgers with cheese

Honey roast peanut bean burgers
Serves 1 ‘MAN’

For the burgers:

  • 150g reduced salt and sugar baked beans – excess sauce drained off
  • 50g flavoured peanuts – I used honey roast
  • 1 slice bread (gluten free if required)
  • 1/2 egg (vegan substitute, if required)

To serve

  • 1 and 1/2 seeded burger buns
  • salsa
  • cheese
  • salad, including lettuce, cucumber, sliced red onion

honey roast bean peanut burgers

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C (350F).  You could barbeque these, but you want to ‘set’ them in the oven first.
  2. Put all the burger ingredients in a food-processor and pulse until it comes together.  Don’t overdo it or you will end up with puree (as Ben once found out).  Keep it chunky!
  3. Oil your baking sheet, and form the mixture into two patties on the tray.  Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until golden and set.
  4. They can be eaten now, or placed on the BBQ for 5-10 minutes.  Add some cheese at the end to enable it to melt.
  5. To serve, alternate burgers, bread rolls and toppings.  I spread my bottom layer with salsa, top with salad, place your ready-cheesed burger, then repeat, finishing with the second top half of bread.
One happy man

One happy man

Hope you get to enjoy lots of chocolate and barbeques today!

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “Man vs burger – honey roast peanut bean burgers: vegetarian

  1. […] was Meatfree Monday.  I’ve mentioned my ‘struggles’ getting Ben to eat meals here and here, but now he knows that one night a week (at least) will be vegetarian, and he’s ok […]

Leave a Reply

