Tempeh Chèvre, vegan, gluten free

I stuck to the core challenge for a bit, but it didn’t progress and I got bored.  I saw this 30 Day abs challenge at the gym on Wednesday, and thought I would give it a go…Who’s with me???

30 day ab challenge

30 day Abs workout

Ben laughed at me because, not content with starting on the 3rd of the month, I had to do a double so that I am caught up.  This way I will finish on the 31st July.  Couldn’t be doing with having it push into two months!

Am I really as crazy as Ben thinks?

Anyway, I said earlier in the week that I would post my recipe for tempeh chèvre.

I am fairly new to tempeh (prounced tem-pay)  I had never heard of tempeh, then when I did hear of it, I couldn’t find it anywhere.  So, I’ve taken to buying mine online.  You can make it yourself, but if you don’t fancy that, try FreshTempeh.co.uk

I made Keepin it kind’s Tofu chèvre, it was ah-ma-zing!  But I have certain concerns about eating too much tofu.  While it has many health benefits:

  • it decreases symptoms of menopause (not my area of expertise)
  • it reduces the risk of some cancers
  • it helps to lower cholesterol levels
  • it improves bone health and reduces the risk of osteoporosis
  • it is high in vegetable protein
  • it is low in fat

There are also links to:

  • disruption to hormone levels
  • increase risk of other cancers

The isoflavones mimic oestrogen which is what causes all of the above effects:

“Isoflavones are phytochemicals, which are compounds found only in plants. They are a type of phytoestrogen because they resemble human estrogen in chemical structure but their biological action is a lot weaker.”

Guess what…my fitness magazine dropped through my mail box, and that is carrying an article about it too…

Women's Health Summer 2013

Women’s Health Summer 2013

Soya linked to cancer, thyroid disease, infertility and pancreatic disorders – hmm, not good.  But fermented soya doesn’t have these risks, and does have nutritional benefits – woo hoo! (It does say small amounts though…)

So I adapted the tofu recipe to replace it with tempeh, it contains miso too!

Tempeh Chevre

before and after baking

Tempeh Chèvre

  • 200g fresh tempeh
  • 1 1/2 tbsp white miso
  • 1/2 tbsp tahini
  • juice of half a lemon
  • sprinkle of salt
  1. Crumble the tempeh into your food processor
  2. Add all the other ingredients and pulse until everything comes together.  You may need to open it up and mix it up.
  3. Squeeze the mixture together and put in a plastic bag, and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.
  4. Heat your oven to 180C (350F).  Take the tempeh out of the fridge and roll into a sausage shape – either in or out of the bag depending on the size of the bag.
  5. Place on an oiled baking tray, and put in the oven for 20 minutes.  You want it looking more golden, and drier.
  6. Leave to cool, then enjoy.  Keep leftovers in an airtight container in the fridge.

Mushroom Tempeh Chèvre PizzaRight, I’m off to do day 5 of my Abs Challenge – BRING IT ON!

Read more

Tempeh Health: http://www.tempeh.info/health/health.php

Guardian.co.uk Food and Drink Features: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2004/nov/07/foodanddrink.features7

Tagged: , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Tempeh Chèvre, vegan, gluten free

  1. […] after my tempeh post, I think I might have to cut back a […]

  2. […] discussed the health benefits of tempeh before.  The trouble for me, is that I’m the only one in the house who will eat it – all the […]

  3. betsy shipley July 18, 2013 at 1:26 pm Reply

    Looks good. We have been making tempeh for over 35 years developing a new process when we were in business in Michigan back in the late 80’s. Now we make tempeh for ourselves and friends. Here is our website: makethebesttempeh.org

    • Emily Hawkes July 18, 2013 at 2:24 pm Reply

      Wow – that’s awesome. Thanks Betsy!

  4. […] try to steer clear of tofu and unfermented soya products, but I fancied making some vegan chèvre. I used this tofu and it was deliciously smoky and creamy.  It’s also made locally to me, […]

  5. […] When I got home, I quicly put on the oven and baked an organic free range chicken fillet alongside a large flat mushroom.  I made a filling for the mushroom out of spinach, garlic, nutritional yeast and crumbled in the last of my homemade tofu chevre. […]

  6. Tempeh | it comes naturally blog May 12, 2014 at 7:54 am Reply

    […] It is fermented soya beans.  I outlined the health benefits of tempeh before in my Tempeh chèvre post.  But here is a […]

Leave a Reply

