Happy Fourth of July: Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

HAPPY AMERICAN INDEPENDENCE DAY
to all my US readers!

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Stars and Stripes Smoothie

As a Brit, I bear no grudges 🙂  In fact I celebrate your Independence, and the way you mark the day with patriotic displays.  Why don’t we have a National Day in England?  We would celebrate with High Tea, and scones and cream (the Devonshire way, of course).

I started my day with a Pumpkin pie smoothie.  OK, I know Pumpkin Pie is more traditionally served at Thanksgiving, but I saw this tin of pumpkin on sale and having read so many recipes using canned pumpkin I just had to buy it.  Next I had to decide how to use it – brownies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin doughnuts: decisions, decisions.  Now I wish I had bought more than one tin!

Libby's solid pack pumpkinI wasn’t really prepared for the colour!

canned pumpkin

canned pumpkin

I was inspired by Oh She Glows Creamy Pumpkin Pie Smoothie, but without the molasses, maple syrup or oats, I think this makes for a lighter concoction.  I added a sprinkle of my carrot cake granola for crunch and served with warm water with a slice of lemon.  Bliss.  I guess the tingle on my tongue is the closest I will get to fireworks today 🙂

pumpkin, banana, vanilla cinnamon

had to add a little flag

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie
Serves 1

  • 100g canned 100% pumpkin
  • 1 small banana, approx 75g
  • 100ml yoghurt of your choice: coconut, soya, I used a probiotic drink
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • ground cinnamon, ground ginger and a sprinkling of fresh grated nutmeg

Put all the ingredients in your blender, and blitz until smooth.  Serve and add toppings.  This is more like a soft, soft-serve consistency, add dairy-free milk if you like yours through a straw.

Have a fab Fourth of July and enjoy the fireworks!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Happy Fourth of July: Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  1. […] course, there’s always the pumpkin smoothie if you like something lighter in the […]

Leave a Reply

