Sauerkraut coleslaw: vegan, gluten-free

Have you heard about the benefits of eating probiotics – that is food that contains ‘good bacteria’ which aids in digestion? Only last week was I reading about how fermented foods are good for the digestive system.

fermented foods 'Healthy' July 2013

‘Healthy’ July 2013

I saw a huge barrel-like (maybe slight exaggeration) jar of sauerkraut at the supermarket and thought I would get some for my vegan reuben sandwiches.  Unfortunately I now see that my sauerkraut is pasteurised – thus no beneficial bacteria.

Last year I, well actually Ben and I, made our own homemade sauerkraut.  I say our – I was the only one to eat it. But Ben certainly helped by giving the cabbage a pretty good bashing!  I was concerned about putting a lot of salt in it, so I picked up a tip of using whey to make the sauerkraut.  BUT, alas this is a vegan post, so that will have to wait another day.  My Mum was NOT happy when I opened my sandwich in the car though :-/

So back to this jar of non-probiotic sauerkraut.  My sauerkraut had added carrot, so I decided to make a variation on my burger topper/mayonnaise, stir in the sauerkraut, and voila – coleslaw!

Coleslaw ingredients: tofu, nutritional yeast, sauerkraut, Dijon Mustard, cider vinegar

coleslaw ingredients

With the weather a bit warmer, it is possible to have a BBQ (I’m British – I will be out there whatever the weather!) and this coleslaw is the perfect vegan accompaniment.  As well as the nutritious sauerkraut, it’s kept low fat yet creamy with tofu, and the added apple cider vinegar helps to slow digestion and reduce the Glycemic Index (GI) of your meal.  Have I mentioned this mustard statistic before…?

20g of mustard will result in 20% increased fat burning a couple of hours later due to ‘isothiocynates’  which increase levels of ephedrine, one of the hormones involved in fat burning
taken from Women’s Health Magazine July/August 2013

Wow! Who knew coleslaw could be so nutritious?!

It was fab on top of a jacket/baked sweet potato, but would also work nicely alongside a barbeque, or atop a salad.  The recipe made quite a lot of ‘mayonnaise’ so you could bulk it out with more shredded carrot, sliced onions, apple pieces etc.

vegan coleslaw, sweet potato and peas

vegan coleslaw, sweet potato and peas

Vegan sauerkraut coleslaw
Serves 1

  • 75g firm silken tofu (I used Mori Nu)
  • 5g nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1tsp Dijon mustard
  • 60g sauerkraut with carrot
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Simply put the tofu, nutritional yeast, vinegar and mustard in a food processor and whizz until smooth
  2. Stir in the sauerkraut, thin out with some of the pickling liquid if it is quite thick
  3. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.  I didn’t use any of either, but that’s my taste.

Have you ever tried making your own fermented foods?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

