Versatile sweet and sour sauce – healthy, gluten free, no added sugar

My blog is one month old today!  Thank you to everyone who has supported me.  I hope you like the direction it is going!  Any questions or comments, please do leave feedback, I read it all!

I thought it was about time I posted another dinner recipe – things have been too sweet lately 🙂

sweet and sour, pineapple, carrot, sweetcorn, peas

Sweet and sour

I find that a lot of commercial sweet and sour sauces are packed with sugar, syrups and artificial flavours, so I made my own – and I have to say, it was delicious!  No added sugar, just sweetness from pineapple and red pepper.

You make the sauce separately, so you can decide what you put in your sweet and sour – keep it simple with vegetables, add some chicken or pork for carnivores or a vegan protein such as tempeh or chickpeas for a complete meal.  Serve simply with brown rice, or have it as part of a Chinese banquet.

Sweet and sour sauce
Serves 2 or 1 hungry person

  • 1/2 red pepper, cubed
  • 1 tsp tomato paste/puree
  • 2 rings of tinned pineapple with half of the pineapple juice (make sure it’s not one packed in syrup
  • coconut water from a coconut milk tin
  • 2 tsp tamari
  • 2 tsp cider vinegar
  1. Put the red pepper, tomato paste/puree pineapple and pineapple juice and coconut water into a pan, and bring to the boil.  A side note here – if you put a tin of coconut milk in the fridge the water will separate and sink to the bottom (or the cream will rise).  The cream can be used as a vegan alternative to cream and can be used to make vegan ice cream.
  2. Simmer until the pepper has softened.
  3. Add in the tamari and cider vinegar.
  4. Place it all into a food processor or blitz with a hand blender.
  5. Return to the pan and simmer until it has reduced.

In my notebook I summarised the method in four words:

  • cook
  • blitz
  • bubble
  • reduce

I would cook your meat, vegetarian/vegan protein separately, then pour over the sauce.  Depending on the vegetables used you could add them directly to the pan of sauce, or cook them separately.  I steamed some red pepper, carrot, peas and babycorn over the brown rice while it was cooking.

vegetable sweet and sour

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Versatile sweet and sour sauce – healthy, gluten free, no added sugar

  1. […] used coconut water in my cooking, see my healthy sweet and sour, but how does it rate as a […]

  2. […] Gently pour off the water into a separate container.  This is great in my sweet and sour, or in a […]

Leave a Reply

