Rhubarb and apple breakfast crumble – vegan, gluten free

Core challenge, abdominals, abs infographic, TribeSports

Core Challenge

After the gorgeous weather we were enjoying earlier in the week I was disappointed to wake up to a grey and drizzly day.  I had been enjoying banana soft serve parfaits and green smoothies for breakfast, but I went for something a bit more warming to encourage the summery feeling.

My parents-in-law gave us some rhubarb fresh from the garden at the weekend, and it was crying out to be turned into a crumble.  I’ve probably mentioned this before, but Ben doesn’t like fruit.  Which means only one thing – it’s mine, all mine!!!  That means I can turn it into a healthy rhubarb crumble – good enough for breakfast.

OK so Ben tells me it’s not a crumble, it’s just fruit and oats, but I like to think of it as dessert for breakfast.

Rhubarb can be quite sharp on it’s own, but I wasn’t about to add spoonfuls of refined sugar.  I added half an apple, and a sprinkle of cinnamon and that was enough for me.

The crumble topping is, as Ben said, oats.  Rolled jumbo oats, toasted with walnuts and more cinnamon, to be precise.

I cooked the fruit and toasted the oats the night before.  Then when I woke up in the morning all I had to do was pop it in the oven –  and complete the Core Workout on the left.    It took me about 10 minutes.  I know people who could be at it for an hour, so think carefully before you commit – you could end up with overcooked breakfast crumble 🙂 To be honest, after that I could have done with a nice cold oat parfait, or a frosty green smoothie.

Thank you to Tribe Sports and StumbleUpon who introduced me to this core workout.

rhubarb apple breakfast crumble, oats, walnuts, cinnamon, apple, rhubarb

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

Rhubarb and apple breakfast crumble
Serves 1

*1 stick of rhubarb (60-100g)
*1/2 apple
50g rolled jumbo oats (certified gluten free if necessary)
10g walnuts
Cinnamon, to taste

1. Chop rhubarb and apple up into chunks about 1inch/2cm

2. Stew the fruit on the hob until soft. If you cover it with a pan lid it will speed it up, remove the lid to reduce (thicken).  Stir in some of the cinnamon, to taste.

3. Meanwhile, add the oats and walnuts to a dry frying pan and stir to lightly toast them.  You can add a smidge of butter/coconut oil and sugar to taste to make this more of a true crumble, but I just added a sprinkle of cinnamon.

4. You can serve this as it is or save it for later.  Put the fruit in an oven proof dish and top with the oats.  If doing this the night before, leave in the fridge until the morning.
rhubarb and apple breakfast crumble2

5. If cooking in the morning, put in the oven at about 180C for 15 minutes or so.  It would be lovely served with yoghurt or coconut cream (vegan option).

rhubarb apple crumble spoonAre you a hot or cold breakfast person?   Do you like something sweet or are you a sucker for savoury?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Rhubarb and apple breakfast crumble – vegan, gluten free

  1. […] the less ripe bright green ones.  I decided my start point would be a breakfast crumble, a bit like the one I did with rhubarb (my lovely in laws […]

Leave a Reply

