Sweet sprouted buckwheat crispies – vegan, gluten free

Decoy Park, Walk

post- gym walk

It was such a lovely evening, Ben and I cut short our gym workout and went for a walk round the local park before dinner.  It was lovely,  but my legs did ache going up the hills 🙂

Luckily, I had some of these sprouted buckwheat crispies to keep me going.

buckwheat, dates, currants, cinnamon, chia seeds, almonds

Sprouted buckwheat crispies with almonds

I made these with the buckwheat groats I sprouted and dehydrated, using the idea from the Raw Health Buckwheat Snax.  I used dates and currants in place of the figs and raisins.  One, because I thought they would be sweeter.  Two, because that’s what I had.  I also used chia seeds instead of the flax seeds.

buckwheat, dates, currants, cinnamon, chia seeds, dehydrated

Ingredients

Chia are another so called superfood.  The seeds come from a plant which is related to mint.  They are a nutritional powerhouse, number one being essential fatty acids, and in particular omega 3. Appartently they have 8x more omega 3 than salmon, though I could quite happily eat 100g salmon, I would have a hard time eating the same quantity of chia.  Chia are high in antioxidants and a great source of calcium, iron, magnesium and phosphorous.  When added to liquid they have an amazing power to absorb it, creating a gelatinous substance which can be used in place of eggs in vegan cooking.

The Raw Health Snax are 50% fruit, 34% sprouted buckwheat and flax seed.  I also wanted to add in some cinnamon to add a little spice and enhance the sweetness.  Cinnamon is optional, add as much or as little as you like.  In keeping with the recipe I kept them raw by drying them out using my dehydrator.  I put them on before I went to work, and Ben turned them off at some point during the day 🙂  The mixture was very sticky, so I smoothed it onto the dehydrator using a plastic baggie over my hand.  This worked great, until I tried to peel off the dried crispie only to find half of it was bubbled up on the other side.  It was fine and created a bit of a challenge.  Mine aren’t all pretty and round like Raw Health’s but they are fine for my purposes.  You could put a bit more care into getting the aesthetics right if that is important to you.

buckwheat, dates, currants, cinnamon, chia seeds, dehydrated

On the dehydrator

I’m not sure if the sprouted buckwheat in the ones from Raw Health were dehydrated before the crackers themselves were dehydrated, but this method provided good results for me.

Sweet Sprouted Buckwheat Crispies
Makes 4 small portions

  • 30g dates
  • 20g currants
  • 35g sprouted buckwheat
  • 15g chia seeds
  • sprinkle of cinnamon, to taste
  1. Put the the dates, currants and cinnamon in a food processor, and whizz to a paste.
  2. Scoop the mixture out of the processor into a container and stir in the dried sprouted buckwheat seeds and chia seeds.  Try not to eat it all now.
  3. Using a plastic sandwich bag over your hand, or using a decent spatula, spread the mixture onto your dehydrator.  Give it a spritz of oil to help prevent sticking if you like.  You can turn the try over and scrape off the excess and repeat here if you like.
  4. Dehydrate until the crispies are crispy.  I put mine on at about 6.30am and Ben turned them off at about 10.30 (he thinks) so mine had a good 4 hours.  My sprouts were already dry and crunchy though so if you skip that stage they will take longer.

This process yielded about 70g of crispies which I separated into 4 portions.  Of course, portion size is up to you and you can make and eat as much as you like 🙂  I scaled up the recipe to work out the nutritional information, so here is the approximate results for a 25g portion so it is comparable with Raw Health (note: not a quarter of the batch above)

25g portion: 117cal, 21.5g carbs of which 5.35 natural sugars, 1.75g fat, 3.25g protein.

What is your favourite snack to keep you going before/during/after working out?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sweet sprouted buckwheat crispies – vegan, gluten free

  1. […] enjoy homemade buckwheat crispies/snacks with some almonds.  I’d forgotten about these – I need to make them […]

  2. […] week, that most of my snacks were bought.  In the past I have made lovely homemade snacks, like my buckwheat crispies or my dehydrated kale […]

Leave a Reply

