Father’s Day Chilli non carne – vegan, gluten free, low fat

Get Cupcaked Chocolate Brownie Cake

Get Cupcaked Chocolate Brownie Cake

Wow – that is one amazing cake.  I must REALLY love Ben, because that’s what I brought home for him for his dessert.  I’m afraid it’s not one of mine, but it certainly gives me a challenge!  It was bought from Ryan, Get Cupcaked at the local Friday market.  I’m afraid it’s locals only for their amazing cakes though.

It’s got to beat the ‘Floor Pudding’ that Ben had one day in the week.  Bloggers out there:  have you done that, so busy trying to catch a great picture for your blog, that you accidentally knock the item – in this case onto the floor.  Oops!

floor pudding, chocolate batter pudding

Floor pudding

It’s Father’s Day tomorrow.  At least it is here in the UK – is it Father’s Day where you are?  Leave me a message below.

I don’t really remember making a big deal of Father’s Day when I was a child – we did cards and presents – the mandatory bottles of beer, wine or socks – but there’s not really the ceremony that there is for Mother’s Day.

I was surprised to get a discount code from Interflora in the week offering me a discount on flowers for Father’s Day.  I don’t think my Dad is really a flowers kind of a person.

Anyway, you might like this recipe in your arsenal for tomorrow – a delicious Chilli Non Carne – yes no meat.  You could of course sub in some minced beef if your Dad is that way inclined, but I’m giving you my veggie version.

homemade spice mix, cumin, coriander, paprika, cinnamon, herbamare

Homemade spices

I started by making my own spice mix.  This isn’t strictly necessary if you have a good chilli or BBQ spice mix, but I wanted to do something special. I used my favourite spicy/aromatic/smoky flavours, but you can change it up a bit.  Cinnamon would be lovely here (not just a dessert spice!).

Spice Mix

  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp hot smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried parsley
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • sprinkle of freshly ground nutmeg
  • cayenne pepper to taste

Start by toasting the cumin and coriander.  Sprinkle them into a hot, dry frying pan, and toast them until they start to pop and jump around. When they are toasted they will be easier to grind.

I used my trusty pestle and mortar to crush them down, but you can use a spice grinder if you have one.  If using the pestle and mortar it will be easier if you have a bit more in there so add in the paprika.  Once it’s ground finely add in the parsley, thyme and cayenne pepper.

chilli non carne, vegan chilli, vegan chill con carne

Chilli Non Carne

I used the same tomato base that I used for my spaghetti bolognese – see I told you it was a versatile recipe!

Chilli Non Carne
Serves 1 Dad

  • 1 heaped teaspoon of spice mix
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed and chopped
  • 2 tsp tomato puree
  • 200g chopped tomatoes
  • 150g cooked red lentils (sub in the same quantity of quality minced beef if required)
  • 1 tsp tamari
  • 40g red kidney beans
  • other vegetables as required, sweetcorn, mushrooms, courgette/zucchini, cubed aubergine all spring to mind
  • 1 square of good quality dark chocolate (optional)
  • Rice to serve
  • A nice cold beer!
  1. Sweat the onion in a frying pan.  You can use oil, but I just dry fried mine adding in a splash of water if it starts to stick
  2. Give the onions a good 10 minutes if you have time.  Add in the garlic (if you crush it with the back of a knife the skin will slide off and make it easier to chop) and the tomato puree and cook off for about 3 minutes.  If you are using minced beef, add it in here and brown.
  3. Add in the spice mix and give it a stir.  Then the red kidney beans and any extra vegetables you are using, depending on the time they take to cook.
  4. Stir in the lentils, chopped tomatoes and tamari, reduce to a simmer until the sauce is thick
  5. My secret ingredient is to melt in a small square of good quality dark chocolate just before serving, you can’t really taste the chocolate, but it adds in a sweet richness that you won’t be able to put your finger on.  Eat the rest of the chocolate.
  6. Serve with rice, a slice of lime and a nice cold beer!
  7. Optional, let your Dad have control of the TV remote control.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Chilli non carne – vegan, gluten free, low fat

  1. Bean and lentil chilli | HerbiFit June 26, 2013 at 11:43 am Reply

    […] Father’s Day Chilli non carne – vegan, gluten free, low fat (itcomesnaturallyblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] was pleased to see his favourite triple chocolate brownie cake from Get […]

Leave a Reply

