Carrot cake granola clusters, gluten free, oil free, vegan

presentation jar carrot cake granola

carrot cake granola

I was excited to find a new online specialty food store – Real Foods based in Edinburgh.   I was very happy when I got my order yesterday. There are a few old favourites, and some new things I’m looking forward to trying, and reviewing, and who knows: recreating – whoop whoop!

Real Foods, buckwheat groats, buckwheat noodles, raw, organic, coconut oil, cacao powder, brown rice syrup

Real Foods order

I ordered on Monday, and the order came by lunchtime on Thursday – not bad for free delivery!  unfortunately my broccoli bread was a bit battered (probably had a fight with the coconut oil).  I mentioned in on Facebook, and they offered to replace the product, how’s that for customer service!  They say they deliver internationally, so definitely worth a look at their fab specialty ranges.  Please note, I am in no way affiliated with them, I’ve had some bad experiences ordering products online, so I am more than happy to report when I have a good experience – share the love.  Bring on some baking this weekend!

Enough about that, on to some baking I did earlier in the week…I’ve come up with a new granola recipe – all on my own.  After all my quinoa granola was gone I was umming and ahhing about whether I wanted to make buckwheat, amaranth, or regular oat granola.  I knew I wanted it to be low or no added sugar, and oil free.  I was getting quite excited thinking about the ingredients I could use (I know, I need to get out more).  How about banana, dried fruit, nuts, nut butters.  Then I had (what I thought was) a brilliant idea – carrot cake granola.  I’m sure I’m not the first person to come up with this idea, but I wanted it to be mine, so I didn’t google it.  Instead I idea-stormed it on the train on the way home.

I got really excited.  I knew I wouldn’t have time to make it when I got home, but I was already foaming at the mouth drooling at the thought.

Instead of choosing just one ‘grain’ I could use several! What goes into carrot cake? Dates, ooh yes dates would make a nice binding agent.  Cinnamon, oh yes, gotta have a nice dose of cinnamon.  Oh and walnuts, carrots were made to go with walnuts in cake!

There, I had a good base, I just needed to work out the ratios.  Granola is really easy: take a selection of dry ingredients, mix them into some wet ingredients, and bake.  Fab!

carrot cake granola ingredients

wet and dry ingredients

The walnuts didn’t make it into the final cut, but it didn’t stop me adding a few when I sprinkled the granola onto my green smoothie.

carrot cake granola green smoothie

Look at that foam! Yummy granola

Carrot Cake Granola

Dry ingredients

  • 100g rolled oats (ensure you have gluten free oats if necessary)
  • 50g raw buckwheat groats
  • 50g amaranth seeds (dry)
  • 80g carrot, roughly chopped in a food processor
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon

Wet ingredients

  • 75g dates
  • 2tbsp almond butter
  • 3tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1tbsp orange juice

    carrot cake granola, buckwheat groats, carrot, dates, amaranth, maple syrup, cinnamon

    pre-baked granola

  1. The night before (or the morning before if you make this in the evening) put the dates, almond butter and maple syrup into a bowl and leave in the fridge overnight to soak
  2. In the morning/evening preheat the oven to 150C.  Put the soaked dates, almond butter and maple syrup into a food processor with the vanilla bean paste.  Add the orange juice to loosen.
  3. Put all the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir to combine.
  5. Line your baking sheet with greaseproof paper (makes it easier to transport to a container – if it makes it that far)
  6. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes, it’s a fairly low heat.
  7. At this point take it out of the oven and give it a good stir.  Think about bringing the pieces at the outside to the inside, and vice versa.
  8. Put it back in the oven for 10-15 minutes until dry and starting to crisp.  Leave on the baking tray to cool, taste a bit (or two).  It will crisp up on cooling.  Place in an airtight container.

carrot cake granola, buckwheat groats, carrot, dates, amaranth, maple syrup, cinnamon

Nutritional Information for entire recipe: 1,351cal, 224g carbs, of which 9g sugar, 32g fat, 37g protein. Information calculated by Myfitnesspal.com.  You decide the portion size 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Carrot cake granola clusters, gluten free, oil free, vegan

  1. […] Toppings – I used carrot cake granola […]

  2. […] yoghurt (dairy or coconut) with some granola. Leave the sugar laden stuff in the supermarket, and make a batch at the […]

Leave a Reply

