Tofu burger topper – vegan, gluten free

I was undecided what to title this blog.  I was aiming for a mayonnaise but added a bit too much Dijon mustard, kind of like a thick vegan hollandaise – I think, I’ve never tried the real version.

tofu burger topper on baked bean and amaranth burger

tofu burger topper

Some days things just don’t go to plan.  I had an epic two hour exercise session this morning, so I thought I would start the day with a quinoa parfait with banana soft serve but I added too much liquid, and didn’t get the layers I was looking for.  It still tasted mighty good though, and powered me through my class.

quinoa, raspberry with banana soft serve

raspberry quinoa parfait

I was going to make amaranth porridge with the bag of amaranth I bought months ago but have been too afraid to use, but after reading how it goes all goopy and viscous (lovely description) when it’s cooked, I thought it would make for great veggie burgers with the baked beans I had left over in the fridge.  In keeping with my iron-rich diet

Amaranth contains more iron than other gluten-free grains. 1 cup of raw amaranth contains 15 milligrams of iron.

And I already noted the high iron content of baked beans in my previous post.

Unfortunately things still didn’t go to plan

baked bean and amaranth

oh dear

So it was with trepidation I whizzed up my leftover tofu to make a mayonnaise.  I was thinking Dijon mustard for flavour, and cider vinegar for a tang.  I tend to do a taste and tweak method.  I added too much vinegar, and didn’t have anymore tofu to balance it out.  Nutritional yeast makes everything better, so I added some to balance it out, and actually it was fab!  Lovely teamed with the ‘burgers/pate’ and some salad!  The ‘burgers’ were crispy around the edges and tasted great, I just need to work on the texture 🙂

bean and amaranth with tofu on buckwheat

mmm…on a buckwheat crispbread

Tofu mayonnaise-style burger topper
Serves 1

  • 40g silken tofu (I used mori-nu)
  • 10g Dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp nutritional yeast
  • dash tamari, to taste

Stick it all in a mini-processor and add salt and pepper to taste.

When things go wrong in the kitchen do you throw it out and start from scratch or go with it?  What have been your biggest kitchen disasters?  What did you learn from them?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tofu burger topper – vegan, gluten free

  1. […] non-probiotic sauerkraut.  My sauerkraut had added carrot, so I decided to make a variation on my burger topper/mayonnaise, stir in the sauerkraut, and voila – […]

  2. […] I guess I could call these Edamaranth burgers – but then you wouldn’t know what I was banging on about.  This was my second attempt at making burgers with amaranth – my first attempt at was a bit of a disaster. […]

Leave a Reply

