Butternut, bean wrap – vegetarian

butternut squash and bean wrap

butternut squash and bean wrap

Ben suggested that I buy myself a blog-notebook.  At first I was keen, and had images of lovely blog ideas and recipes scribbled down.  But then I thought I didn’t need one.  I make notes in draft blog posts, I have plenty of ideas.  BUT then I wanted to make these delicious potato wedges for dinner the other night, and I realised that I couldn’t for the life of me remember what went into the coating.

peanut butter potato wedges

potato wedges

Curses were uttered, until it occurred to me that I had the perfect opportunity to play with the recipe again, and ‘refine’ it, if you can refine something when you forgot the original. Maybe Ben was right after all (I’ll soon find out if he reads my blog!) I think I might just have to go shopping this weekend.

I had a similar problem with these wraps.  But thankfully I took photos of the process and I was adapting a dish I had seen on another blog I love.

This delicious dinner was inspired by Angela at Oh She Glows. Her Black Bean and Butternut Squash Burritos sounded divine.  I had some butternut squash, and was looking for a tasty way to use it up.  I’m not a fan of black beans, but they are easy to substitute out of a burrito. What is a burrito anyway?  Is it just a wrap – hot I guess? I get a bit confused by the different Mexican dishes, they all seem variations on the same thing – Fajitas, Burritos, Enchiladas, Quesadillas.  Maybe that was a bad thing to admit to, I guess I should do some research before I make such a flippant comment… 🙂

Butternut squash and haricot bean burritos
Serves 1

Butternut squash, red onion, red pepper and haricot beans in the frying pan

Butternut squash, red onion, red pepper and haricot beans

  • 1/2 red pepper, roasted
  • 1/2 red onion, roasted
  • 100g butternut squash
  • 80g haricot bean from a tin
  • 1 teaspoon barbeque seasoning (look for one without added sugar)
  • 20g low fat mozzarella (optional – leave out to make it vegan)
  • 1 wholemeal wrap
  • Fillings, I used cherry tomatoes and spinach

Chop up the butternut squash into bitesize chunks.  Put them into a hot non-stick pan, and keep them moving. I used a few spritzes of 1 calorie spray – I should have a proper look at this, there’s no way that’s natural! – if it starts to stick just add a splash of water.  When the squash is cooked, or near-cooked add in roasted red onion and red pepper.  I pre-roasted some red onion and red pepper and I had these in the fridge already.  If you put roast peppers in a bag in the fridge (from warm) the skin just peels off – yum! Throw in the haricot beans and sprinkle over the barbeque seasoning.  Stir it around until everything is heated through.  If using (it won’t be vegan), add in the mozzarella and allow it to go all melty-squishy.

seasoned butternut squash and beans with low fat mozzarella

seasoned butternut squash and beans with low fat mozzarella

This mix is lovely over salad (I made more and had it cold for lunch with a salad).  But for these, simply add to a wrap with any other fillings you like, salad, hummus, salsa – you name it, this is your burrito.

Wrap it up as tightly as you can, things could get messy!

butternut squash and bean wrap

butternut squash and bean wrap

Can anyone recommend any good gluten-free wraps that you can get in the UK? Have a great weekend!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

