Gluten free vegan sourdough cookies

Writing about my Herman Sourdough cake the other day made me want to do some sourdough baking again.  I got into baking sourdough bread last year, but keeping it alive was getting a bit expensive, and Ben doesn’t like sourdough particularly anyway.

I decided I could make some healthier cookies – sourdough oat and raisin cookies!  I then decided to make them gluten-free, hey why not experiment, and I’m all for having something different. So I got my ingredients together for some sourdough starter.

sourdough starter

sourdough starter

I bought some hemp milk on offer this week (ok, Ben bought it for me – thanks honey!) so this was a perfect opportunity to try it.  On the grounds of gluten-free I went for brown rice flour.  So I took: 1 cup of brown rice flour, 1 heaped teaspoon of dried yeast, 2 tablespoons of caster sugar and 1 cup of hemp milk.  I stirred it up and left it overnight.  I have made a sourdough starter without yeast before, but it takes a bit longer, and I wanted this quickly. This is what it looked like the next morning:

sourdough starter

sourdough starter

I added half a cup of flour and hemp milk in the morning, and by the afternoon it had grown and was bubbling away – yay! I do love the yeasty smell of sourdough.

sourdough starter

sourdough morning and evening

The above picture shows what it was like when I got up in the morning before I fed it, and again in the evening.  Can you see there’s 100ml of bubbles going on in there!

When I got home after work it was ready to make cookies.

gluten free vegan oat and currant sourdough cookie dough

sourdough cookie dough

I tried two recipes, they were both nice in their own way.  I have used banana before in cookies to replace the fat – but Ben doesn’t like banana.  I wanted to replace it with something healthy, not high sugar, or pure fat.  My secret ingredient is avocado, not strong tasting, but adds moisture.  I also decided to change up the molasses which has a strong taste, with something sweeter.  I used honey, but you could use brown rice syrup or maple syrup if you want to keep them vegan.

gluten free vegan oat and currant sourdough cookies

sourdough cookies

Gluten-free vegan sourdough cookies
Makes 8

  • 1/4 cup sourdough starter
  • 50g brown rice flour
  • 50g rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon molasses or 1 1/2 tablespoon honey (not vegan if using honey)
  • 1/2 banana or 40g avocado, mashed
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 60mls water
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 50g currants
  1. Preheat oven to 180C and prepare a baking sheet (oil/baking parchment/silicone mat etc)
  2. Put the rice flour, oats, sugar, bicarbonate of soda and cinnamon into a bowl
  3. Put the sourdough starter, molasses or honey, banana or avocado, and water into a food processor and pulse until smooth
  4. Empty the wet ingredients into the dry, and mix until combined.  It should be the consistency of muffin batter, add more oats or water to get the consistency right
  5. Stir in the currants (raisins or chocolate chips would work just as well here)
  6. Drop 8 tablespoon amounts onto your cookie sheet – press down lightly, but we thought these were better thicker
  7. Bake for 15-20 minuted until they look dry and golden brown, they should lift easily off the baking sheet when done. They will crisp up a bit on the outside as they cool.

    two types gluten free vegan oat and currant sourdough cookies

    Two types of sourdough

These are best eaten on the day they are made.

Now what am I going to do with all the leftover sourdough starter?

What’s your favourite cookie flavour?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

