White Asparagus Soup

“Earthier and nuttier” or “milder and more tender” and “less bitter” than its green counterpart.  After I bought my white asparagus or ‘spargel’ earlier this week, I’ve been doing some research to decide how I’m going to cook it.  Lots of recipes pair it with butter, cream or pancetta – that’s not going to happen in my kitchen.  I have to get clever.  I tried to roast a spear with garlic and lemon: not great. I don’t think I roasted it long enough and it was a bit crunchy.  Though on the plus side, Ben tried it:

B: I don’t like asparagus
E: Just try a taste. {pause} What did you think?
B: Doesn’t taste of much
E: How does it compare to normal asparagus?
B: I don’t know, I don’t eat asparagus
E: {silent}

I decided on an Emily-version of White asparagus soup.  The soups tend to be creamy: crème fraiche, heavy cream, butter, egg yolks…No thanks!  So how to make it creamy without adding cream?  I thought about going for cottage cheese or a low fat cream alternative (yoghurt, low fat soft cheese, low fat crème fraiche), but decided to keep it vegan.  So add some starch.  I thought about adding potato, but I decided on haricot beans which I had in the fridge – adds creaminess without overpowering the flavour.

Asparagus soup ingredients

Getting set up with ingredients

During my research I learned that you have to prepare white asparagus – more so than green – by peeling it and removing the woody end.  I’m used to just a clean snap to remove the woody stalk.

preparing white asparagus

peel the asparagus

Ta da!

prepared and peeled asparagus

prepared and peeled

White Asparagus soup for one

Ingredients

  • 1/2 white onion
  • 70g haricot beans
  • 150g white asparagus (prepared weight)
  • Garlic clove (optional)
  • stock (to taste) – I use Marigold low salt vegan bouillon
  • salt, pepper and a squeeze of lemon

To keep it low fat, I sweated the onion without any oil.  Just cook in a non-stick pan with a splash of water if it starts to stick.  Add the chopped clove of garlic for the last 2-3 minutes.

Add the asparagus stalks, I kept the tips to add towards the end. Keep stirring to avoid browning for 5 minutes or so.

Pour over your stock, and add the haricot beans and asparagus tips.

Simmer for 15-20 minutes until all the asparagus is tender

asparagus soup all in the pan

Blend until smooth, add more stock if it is too thick for your liking.

Serve with a sprinkle of freshly ground pepper and a slice of lemon.  I sprinkled with a little of the chervil I bought.

white asparagus soup

Mmm… delicious

I’ve got a couple of stalks left, and I’ve seen recommendations for eating it raw in a salad – might just give that a go 🙂

Have you made the most of the short white asparagus season?  How do you serve yours?

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “White Asparagus Soup

  1. […] simply prepared it (see my post on white asparagus soup) and wrapped it in tin foil with a slice of lemon and a clove of […]

Leave a Reply

