Mince Cobbler

Mince Cobbler

Mince cobbler, potatoes and vegetables

White asparagus and chervil

White asparagus and chervil

After a day of walking, I thought I would make a nice hearty cobbler for dinner.  But, first thing’s first, I have to show you what I bought from the supermarket.  We are lucky enough to have a new Morrisons nearby which has a funky-food department.  Now I’m sure it has a technical name, but that will have to do for now.  I like to drag Ben along occasionally of a weekend to try-something new.  So, what did I go for today?  I’d been considering trying the white asparagus for some time, but hadn’t actually gone for it.  This week it was the winner!  I also bought a bunch of the ‘herb of the month’ – Chervil.  I have no idea what I am going to do with them, but it’s a bank holiday weekend so I have time spare to do some research.

Now for that cobbler…  It wasn’t as easy as I thought coming up with a savoury scone recipe – most recipes have sugar in there somewhere. I also had to have the ingredients at home because it was 6.30 on a Sunday evening.

Ingredients

Mince

  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 1 celery stick, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 125g extra lean mince
  • gravy granules, to taste
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Savoury scone topping

  • 175g plain flour – I used half wholemeal spelt flour, half plain white flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 100g butter, cold
  • 10ml apple cider vinegar
  • 2tsp dried herbs of choice – I used thyme and parsley
  • semi-skimmed milk, as required
  • half an egg (I know, but see below for what I did with the leftovers) for glazing (optional)
Mince cobbler: Stage one - sweating down red onion, celery and carrot

Stage one – sweating down red onion, celery and carrot

First sweated down the red onion, carrot and celery.  To reduce the fat in this recipe (it is extra lean steak mince though) I just used my non-stick pan and nothing more – result!

Stage two - browning the mince

Stage two – browning the mince

Add the mince and continue to cook until brown.

Mince cobbler: Stage three - make gravy

Stage three – make gravy

Add freshly boiled water and gravy granules of your choice, to create a gravy.  Make this to taste.  It will thicken in the oven, so make it a bit looser than you would serve it.  You could add wine (a nice bit of red here would be nice) or ale etc in place of the water if you fancy it.  Season to taste.

Flour and butter

Flour and butter

Chuck the flour, baking powder, herbs and butter into a food processor and pulse until lightly combined. You don’t want to process it too much or the scones will be tough.  Make sure you do pick up the baking powder – I once got confused and added bicarbonate of soda by mistake.  The scones looked beautiful, but they tasted soooo bad!  The birds wouldn’t even eat them!

savoury scone dough

Savoury scone dough

Add the vinegar and enough milk to make a soft dough.  Again, handle this as lightly as possible, get in there with your hands and press it together.  Sour milk is great for making scones, but as our milk was fresh I used some apple cider vinegar instead.  Apple cider vinegar is really good for you, it doesn’t distort the flavour of the scones though.  Gently roll it out, and use a cutter to make scones.  My dough was enough for 5 large scones, I would have made them smaller, but I couldn’t find a small enough cutter.  Don’t twist the cutter, or it will prevent the scones from rising properly.

Mince cobbler before baking

Egg washed scones

Drop a couple of scones on top of the beef mixture in a casserole dish.  Brush the scones with the egg (if using) and pop in the oven at 180C for 30-45 minutes.  The mince will be cooked by now, so you just need to cook the scones.  You will know when they are done when the scones are risen and brown.

Mince cobbler

Mince cobbler

With the remaining egg from the egg wash I threw together some pancakes with Ben’s Ben and Jerry’s ice cream and chocolate sauce.  I didn’t keep a record of the recipe, but it might come up again 🙂

chocolate ice cream pancakes

Chocolate ice cream pancakes

Do you like to try new ingredients?  Any ideas what I can do with my white asparagus and chervil?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mince Cobbler

  1. Angie June 13, 2013 at 11:04 pm Reply

    Yummy !

    • Emily Hawkes July 9, 2013 at 9:43 am Reply

      I must have missed your comment before – thanks Angie!

      • Angie July 11, 2013 at 12:08 am

        😀

Leave a Reply

